Don't Worry, It Gets Worse by Alida Nugent
One Twentysomething's (Mostly Failed) Attempts at Adulthood

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

This book, like one of its myriad cocktails, is dry, dirty and surprisingly refreshing.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Alida Nugent graduated college with a degree in one hand and a drink in the other, eager to trade in parties and all-nighters for “the real world.” But post-grad wasn’t the glam life she imagined. Soon buried under a pile of bills, laundry, and three-dollar bottles of wine, it quickly became clear that she had no idea what she was doing. But hey, what twentysomething does?

In Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse, Nugent shares what it takes to make the awkward leap from undergrad to “mature and responsible adult that definitely never eats peanut butter straight from the jar and considers it a meal.” From trying to find an apartment on the black hole otherwise known as Craigslist to the creative maneuvering needed to pay off student loans and still enjoy happy hour, Nugent documents the formative moments of being a twentysomething with a little bit of snark and a lot of heart. Perfect for fans of HBO's Girls and Allie Brosh's Hyperbole and a Half, and based on her popular Tumblr blog The Frenemy, Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse is a love note to boozin’, bitchin’ ladies everywhere.
 

About Alida Nugent

See more books from this Author
Alida Nugent is as shocked as you are that she’s making a living in today’s economy. She currently resides in Brooklyn and enjoys eating sandwiches on the stoops of other people’s apartments.
 
Published May 7, 2013 by Plume. 204 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Literature & Fiction, Biographies & Memoirs. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Don't Worry, It Gets Worse
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on May 05 2013

This book, like one of its myriad cocktails, is dry, dirty and surprisingly refreshing.

Read Full Review of Don't Worry, It Gets Worse: O... | See more reviews from Kirkus

NY Journal of Books

Good
Reviewed by Sheila Moeschen on May 07 2013

At times, the writing threatens to overrun what are many of the author’s wickedly crafted insights; however, there are moments when Ms. Nugent allows herself to shift out of snark hyperdrive to offer some truly lovely moments.

Read Full Review of Don't Worry, It Gets Worse: O... | See more reviews from NY Journal of Books

Reader Rating for Don't Worry, It Gets Worse
77%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 119 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×