Don't You Trust Me? by Patrice Kindl

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

Readers who overlook a number of implausibilities (how are Morgan’s low-income parents able to afford boarding school?) will be swept up in a narrative driven by the high-stakes game Morgan is playing, wondering whether she will be smarter than she is greedy and if she’ll get away while she still can.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

A teenage girl switches identities with a stranger and pulls off a long-term scam in this smart, sarcastic thriller perfect for fans of Ally Carter.

Don’t you trust me? I mean, look at me. Blond, blue-eyed, the very image of innocence. Pretty enough, if you care about that kind of thing. I don’t.

But would a normal person switch identities with some wet mess of a girl at the airport, just to get her to stop bawling about being separated from her loser boyfriend and sent to live with some distant relatives? Nope, she wouldn’t. Yet I did. I’m not as normal as you think. And you’ll just have to trust me on that.
 

About Patrice Kindl

See more books from this Author
Patrice Kindl (www.patricekindl.com) lives in Middleburgh, New York.
 
Published August 30, 2016 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers. 256 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Don't You Trust Me?
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on May 04 2016

The first-person narration combined with Morgan’s compulsive lying will have readers wondering whether or not she’s at all reliable, a device that effectively compounds the tension. A chilling reminder that sociopaths aren’t always coldblooded serial killers; sometimes they’re the girl next door.

Read Full Review of Don't You Trust Me? | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Above average
on Jun 23 2017

Readers who overlook a number of implausibilities (how are Morgan’s low-income parents able to afford boarding school?) will be swept up in a narrative driven by the high-stakes game Morgan is playing, wondering whether she will be smarter than she is greedy and if she’ll get away while she still can.

Read Full Review of Don't You Trust Me? | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly