Double Whammy by Gretchen Archer

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Archer’s debut provides more evidence for the adage that bigger isn’t always better. The small-scale mysteries thrown Davis’ way have more charm than the finale, which gets confusing in its complexity.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

USA TODAY BESTSELLER“Funny & wonderful & human. It gets the Stephanie Plum seal of approval.” – Janet Evanovich

“Archer navigates a satisfyingly complex plot and injects plenty of humor as she goes. This madcap debut is a winning hand for fans of Janet Evanovich and Deborah Coonts.” – Library Journal

“If Scout Finch and Carl Hiaasen had a baby, it would be Davis (Way.) Double Whammy is filled with humor and fresh, endearing characters. It's that rarest of books: a beautifully written page-turner. It’s a winner!” – Michael Lee West, Author of Gone With a Handsomer Man

“With Janet Evanovich’s endorsement readers can expect loads of humor and quirky characters, but they are also gifted with an extremely well-written novel and a heroine fully formed and quite complex...Expectations will be high with this debut mystery, but readers can be assured that they will be met with the very enjoyable, humorous, and exciting novel." – Kings River Life Magazine

“Surrounded by an interesting cast of characters exploding with southern charm, this was a fun read full of snarky and witty banter (especially her internal dialogue) that kept me entertained as I quickly turn the pages in a book that I could not put down." – Dru's Book Musings

“Fast-paced, snarky action set in a compelling, southern glitz-and-glamour locale...Utterly un-put-down-able.” – Molly Harper, Author of the Award-Winning Nice Girls Series

Davis Way thinks she’s hit the jackpot when she lands a job as the fifth wheel on an elite security team at the fabulous Bellissimo Resort and Casino in Biloxi, Mississippi. But once there, she runs straight into her ex-ex husband, a rigged slot machine, her evil twin, and a trail of dead bodies. Davis learns the truth and it does not set her free—in fact, it lands her in the pokey. Buried under a mistaken identity, her hot streak runs cold until her landlord Bradley Cole steps in. Make that her landlord, lawyer, and love interest. With his help, Davis must win this high stakes game before her luck runs out.

Related subjects include: cozy mysteries, women sleuths, murder mystery series, whodunit mysteries (whodunnit), humorous murder mysteries, book club recommendations, private investigator mystery series, amateur sleuth books, Southern humor, Southern living, romantic comedy, rom com, chick lit.

Books in the Davis Way Crime Caper Mystery Series:DOUBLE WHAMMY (#1)DOUBLE DIP (#2)DOUBLE STRIKE (#3)DOUBLE MINT (#4)DOUBLE KNOT (#5)

Part of the Henery Press Mystery Series Collection, if you like one, you'll probably like them all...

 

About Gretchen Archer

See more books from this Author
Gretchen Archer is a Tennessee housewife who began writing when her daughters, seeking higher educations, ran off and left her. She lives on Lookout Mountain with her husband, son, and a Yorkie named Bently. Double Dip is the second Davis Way crime caper. You can visit her at www.gretchenarcher.com.
 
Published May 14, 2013 by Henery Press. 300 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Romance. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Double Whammy
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Above average
on Apr 01 2013

Archer’s debut provides more evidence for the adage that bigger isn’t always better. The small-scale mysteries thrown Davis’ way have more charm than the finale, which gets confusing in its complexity.

Read Full Review of Double Whammy | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Double Whammy
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 365 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review