Drifting House by Krys Lee

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

The two finest stories in the collection, "Drifting House" and "The Believer", achieve extraordinary feats within a few pages – murder, madness, haunting, loss of faith and more.
-Guardian

Synopsis

An unflinching portrayal of the Korean immigrant experience from an extraordinary new talent in fiction.

Spanning Korea and the United States, from the postwar era to contemporary times, Krys Lee's stunning fiction debut, Drifting House, illuminates a people torn between the traumas of their collective past and the indignities and sorrows of their present.

In the title story, children escaping famine in North Korea are forced to make unthinkable sacrifices to survive. The tales set in America reveal the immigrants' unmoored existence, playing out in cramped apartments and Koreatown strip malls. A makeshift family is fractured when a shaman from the old country moves in next door. An abandoned wife enters into a fake marriage in order to find her kidnapped daughter.

In the tradition of Chang-rae Lee's Native Speaker and Jhumpa Lahiri's Interpreter of Maladies, Drifting House is an unforgettable work by a gifted new writer.

 

About Krys Lee

See more books from this Author
KRYS LEE was born in Seoul, South Korea, raised in California and Washington, and studied in the United States and England. She was a finalist for Best New American Voices in 2006, and her work has appeared in The Kenyon Review, Narrative Magazine, California Quarterly, Pacific Ties, The Korea Times, and Asia Weekly. She divides her time between South Korea and the United States.
 
Published February 2, 2012 by Penguin Books. 219 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Drifting House
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Kamila Shamsie on Mar 09 2012

The two finest stories in the collection, "Drifting House" and "The Believer", achieve extraordinary feats within a few pages – murder, madness, haunting, loss of faith and more.

Read Full Review of Drifting House | See more reviews from Guardian

NPR

Good
Reviewed by Heller McAlpin on Feb 20 2012

The metaphor of the drifting house serves as an apt, unifying roof over these harrowing, tragic stories about unmoored characters who find themselves neither here nor there

Read Full Review of Drifting House | See more reviews from NPR

Reader Rating for Drifting House
72%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 28 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×