Dust by Arthur Slade

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 7 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

*Winner of the $15,000 Governor General’s Award
*Winner of the Mr. Christie's Award
*An American Library Association Best Books for Young Adults
*Nominated for an Edgar Award (Mystery Writers of America)
*Over 60,000 copies sold


For fans of Stephen King and Ray Bradbury...

Imagine a depression-era town where it hasn’t rained for years. A pale rainmaker with other-worldly eyes brings rain to the countryside and mesmerizes the townspeople, but the children begin to disappear one by one. Only young Robert Steelgate is able to resist the rainmaker’s spell and begin the struggle to discover what has happened to his missing brother and the other children.

"Read the riveting first chapter of Dust and you're already past the point of no return. Arthur Slade writes with the art and grace of a hypnotist, and you won't be able to put this book down. It's sensational!" Kenneth Oppel, New York Times bestselling author of AIRBORN and SKYBREAKER.

About the Author:
Arthur Slade was raised on a ranch in the Cypress Hills of southwest Saskatchewan and began writing at an early age. He has been writing fiction full time for fifteen years and is the author of sixteen bestselling books, including the "Northern Frights" series, "Jolted," and "The Hunchback Assignments." He lives in the magical city of Saskatoon, Canada.
 

About Arthur Slade

See more books from this Author
Arthur Slade is the author of five novels for young adults. Dust is his second novel to appear in the U.S. The author lives in Saskatoon, Canada.
 
Published February 5, 2011 by Dava Enterprises. 192 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Children's Books, Horror, Literature & Fiction, History. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Dust

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Robert, who immerses himself whenever possible in adventure stories, eventually tries to rescue his brother and break the hold of the devil-like Abram.

| Read Full Review of Dust

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Set in drought-devastated Saskatchewan between the world wars, Slade's (Tribes) eerie novel opens as seven-year-old Matthew Steelgate gets into a truck driven

Mar 31 2003 | Read Full Review of Dust

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

During a drought between the two world wars, a stranger uses hypnosis on a small town to get the residents to build a "rainmill" and to induce them to forget about the children who begin to disappear.

| Read Full Review of Dust

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Set in drought-devastated Saskatchewan between the world wars, Slade's (Tribes) eerie novel opens as seven-year-old Matthew Steelgate gets into a truck driven by a stranger with hypnotic powers of persuasion, a stranger who says, several times, ""I was never young."" Readers can predict the b...

| Read Full Review of Dust

Teen Reads

For weeks, Robert doesn't dream and everyone in town becomes obsessed with building a rain mill, the invention Abram promises will make the dust disappear.

Oct 18 2011 | Read Full Review of Dust

Gather Books

Dust takes place in Horshoe, Saskatchewan and mentions many towns and areas that I know all about having been to the places.

Jun 20 2009 | Read Full Review of Dust

Sci-Fi Bulletin

The final story for the 11th Doctor, Amy and Rory rather redresses the balance between the two companions, given that it’s narrated in character as Rory by Arthur Darvill and Amy is flat on her back for a good part of the tale.

| Read Full Review of Dust

Reader Rating for Dust
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 114 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×