Eagle Station by MARK BERENT

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



It is with good reason that Mark Berent has consistently received this kind of praise. Berent, himself a highly decorated pilot, has seen his share of action, having served in the Air Force for more than twenty years and survived three tours of Vietnam. In his three previous novels, all a part of the continuing saga that Kirkus Reviews has called "one of the best Vietnam War fictional histories," Berent has demonstrated an unparalleled ability to recapture the Vietnam experience with vivid intensity. Berent's remarkable storytelling places the reader directly into the heat of the battle, dodging missiles in the sky and countering blows in hand-to-hand combat. As Tom Clancy says, "Berent is the real thing."

In Eagle Station (June 8, 1992) the newest installment in his Vietnam War series, Berent puts on the heat and raises the stakes, creating his most electrifying tale of war to date. Beginning with a hair-raising cliff side helicopter rescue under heavy fire, and racing toward a climactic ground battle played out in the dark of night, engaging top secret USAF first special operations gun ships, Eagle Station is filled with adventure and acts of daring, woven into a compelling and powerful plot.

United States Airforce Academy (Provisional) Lowry Air Force Base, Denver, Colorado

Three Young Cadets, Kenichi Tanaka, Joe Kelly, and Manuel "Little Cat' Dominguez, all subjected to the cruel hazing of an arrogant and vengeful upperclassman, band together in a show of unity and strength. Years later, this solemn oath of brotherhood will hold them together, and be severely tested, during cataclysmic events in Vietnam.

They meet to save Eagle Station at Lima Site 85 Royalty of Laos. LS85 is only 24 kilometers from the North Vietnamese border and provides crucial navigation signals to U.S. planes attacking communist North Vietnam. Russian Spetsnaz have a plan to capture a vital electronic device from the site and kill all the Americans thereby aiding Hanoi's plot to provide a big event involving the first black POW pilot.

Eagle Station is the fourth of the five-book Rolling Thunder series. Next and last is Storm Flight.

Use fly@markberent.com to email Mark if you have any questions.


See more books from this Author
MARK BERENT served in the Air Force for over twenty years, first as an enlisted man and then as an officer. He has logged 4,350 hours of lying time, over 1,000 of them in combat. During his three Vietnam tours, Berent earned not only the Silver Star, but two Distinguished Flying Crosses, air medals, a Bronze Star, Vietnamese Cross of Gallantry, and Legion of Merit.
Published June 16, 2014 by PUTNAM. 396 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, War, Literature & Fiction, History, Action & Adventure, Horror. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Eagle Station

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

 Berent's US Air Force saga (Rolling Thunder, Steel Tiger, Phantom Leader) continues, taking his pilots and commandos into Laos and a late-1968 battle to protect a radar outpost.

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of Eagle Station

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The fourth novel in this Vietnam series (after Phantom Leader ) takes place during the fall of 1968. As a desperate President Johnson seeks to purchase goodwill by halting the bombing of North Vietnam

Jun 01 1992 | Read Full Review of Eagle Station

Reader Rating for Eagle Station

An aggregated and normalized score based on 18 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review