East by Edith Pattou

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Rose has always felt out of place in her family, a wanderer in a bunch of homebodies. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him--in exchange for health and prosperity for her ailing family--she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she loses her heart, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun.
As familiar and moving as "Beauty and the Beast" and yet as fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale "East of the Sun, West of the Moon," a sweeping romantic epic in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine.
 

About Edith Pattou

See more books from this Author
EDITH PATTOU is the author of the acclaimed young adult fantasy novels "East," "Fire Arrow," and "Hero's Song." She lives in Columbus, Ohio. TRICIA TUSA has illustrated many books for young readers, including "The End of the Beginning" by Avi, "The Magic Hat" by Mem Fox, and her own "Maebelle's Suitcase," "Camilla's New Hairdo," and "Bunnies in My Head," She lives in Galisteo, New Mexico.
 
Published March 16, 2012 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. 512 pages
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Nature & Wildlife, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for East

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Using multiple narrators, Pattou expands the Scandinavian folktale "East of the Sun and West of the Moon" to epic length—adding little to the original.

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of East

SF Site

East of the Sun, West of the Moon is a fabulous Norwegian fairy tale that, if we divide fairy tales into families, would be a sister to Beauty and the Beast.

| Read Full Review of East

Reader Rating for East
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 166 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×