Easterns and Westerns by Glendon Swarthout

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



In his only collection of short fiction, Glendon Swarthout, author of The Shootist, Where the Boys Are, and Bless the Beasts and the Children, reveals in microcosm the heroic and gritty themes that characterized both his novels and films. Stories such as "Mulligans" and "A Glass  of Blessings" explore the seedy underbelly of human desire, while "A Horse for Mrs. Custer" quietly celebrates the dedication of men and women who act above and beyond their capabilities during war and upheaval. Although these stories were written over a span of three decades, their themes of generational conflict, hypocrisy, loss, sacrifice, love, and war remain fresh and startling. Alternately funny and uncomfortable, Swarthout captures the postwar tensions of twentieth-century Americans. This collection reveals the versatility, range, and skill of one of America's great storytellers. Easterns and Westerns includes one unpublished novella and thirteen stories, some of which have appeared in national magazines such as Esquire, Cosmopolitan, Redbook, and the Saturday Evening Post. One of these, "A Glass of Blessings," was an O'Henry Prize Short Story in 1960. Another, "A Horse for Mrs. Custer," became a 1956 Western film for Columbia Pictures, 7th Cavalry, starring Randolph Scott and Barbara Hale.  A third story, "Mulligans," was made into a multiple prize-winning at film festivals short comedy film by his son, Miles, which  aired numerous times on the Women's Entertainment cable channel (WE) in 2000-1.

About Glendon Swarthout

See more books from this Author
Glendon Swarthout was born in Michigan and is the author of 16 novels. He was awarded an O. Henry Prize in 1960, a National Society of Arts and Letters gold medal in 1972, and the Owen Wister Award from the Western Writers of America in 1991.
Published March 1, 2001 by Michigan State University Press. 220 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Easterns and Westerns

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The posthumous Easterns and Westerns includes a novella and 13 stories by Glendon Swarthout, author of 16 novels including The Shootist and Where the Boys Are.

| Read Full Review of Easterns and Westerns

Rate this book!

Add Review