Eliza's Daughter by Joan Aiken

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



In the sequel to Jane Austen's Sense and Sensibility, Eliza's daughter, Liz, grows up as a charming, well-educated, irrepressible hoyden in the town of Byblow Bottom, until she is brought back to the Dashwood sisters' home. By the author of Jane Fairfax.

About Joan Aiken

See more books from this Author
Joan Delano Aiken was born in Rye, Sussex, England, on September 4, 1924, the daughter of the Pulitzer Prize winner, writer Conrad Aiken. She was raised in a rural area and home schooled by her mother until the age 12. She then attended Wychwood School, a boarding school in Oxford. Her work first appeared in 1941 when the British Broadcasting Corporation, where she worked as a librarian, broadcast some of her short stories on their Children's Hour program. Aiken also worked at St. Thomas's Hospital, and in 1943 she moved to the reference department of the London office of the United Nations, where she collected information about resistance movements. She worked for the UN until 1949, all the while continuing to write stories. In 1953 a collection of short fiction called All You've Ever Wanted and Other Stories was published. While writing The Wolves of Willoughby Chase, begun in 1952, her husband became ill and died of lung cancer in 1955. After working for five years as a copy editor at Argosy Magazine, and at the J. Walter Thompson Advertising Firm, she returned and finished the book in 1963. The Wolves of Willoughby Chase won the Lewis Carroll Shelf Award and was made into a successful film in 1988. In 1969 The Whispering Mountain won the Guardian Children's Book Award, and in 1972, Night Fall won America¿s Edgar Allen Poe Award for juvenile mystery. Aiken is best known for her adult "fantasy" stories. She has received awards for children's fiction and for mystery fiction, and has also written ''sequels'' to Jane Austen books. She collaborated with her daughter to write many episodes of her Arabel and Mortimer the raven series for the BBC. In all, Aiken wrote 92 novels - including 27 for adults - as well as plays, poems and short stories, although she was best known as a writer of children's stories. Joan Aiken died in January of 2004 at the age of 79.
Published January 1, 1994 by VICTOR GOLLANCZ. 320 pages
Genres: History, Young Adult, Literature & Fiction, Romance. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Eliza's Daughter


If you were ever interested in just what happened to Eliza William’s daughter – you know, the girl who was the ward of Colonel Brandon and impregnated by that scoundrel John Willoughby, then a speculative answer might be found in ‘Eliza’s Daughter.’ It is a sequel to Jane Austen’s ‘Sense and Sens...

Nov 22 2009 | Read Full Review of Eliza's Daughter

Reader Rating for Eliza's Daughter

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review