Elizabeti's School by Stephanie Stuve-Bodeen
(Elizabeti Series)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

It's the first day of school and Elizabeti can hardly wait. She puts on her new uniform and feels her shiny shoes. School must surely be a very special place!

Shortly after arriving at school, however, Elizabeti begins to miss her family. What if Mama needs help cleaning the rice? What if her baby sister wants to play? What if her little brother wants to go for a walk? But soon Elizabeti is making friends and learning her lessons. Best of all, she shares her experiences with her family that evening — and can apply what she has learned right away.

In this contempory Tanzanian story, author Stephanie Stuve-Bodeen and artist Christy Hale once again bring the sweet innocence of Elizabeti to life. Readers are sure to recognize this young child’s emotions as she copes with her first day of school and discovers the wonder and joy of learning.

 

About Stephanie Stuve-Bodeen

See more books from this Author
STEPHANIE STUVE-BODEEN won the Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Award for her picture book debut, Elizabeti's Doll. She is also the author of the award-winning Mama Elizabeti, both published by Lee and Low. A Peace Corps volunteer in Tanzania in the 1980s, she recently relocated from Hawaii to Washington with her husband and their two children. CHRISTY HALE is the illustrator of both Elizabeti's Doll and Mama Elizabeti, as well as numerous other children_s books. After living in New York City for 17 years, she recently returned to her native home of Palo Alto, California, with her family.
 
Published September 1, 1998 by Lee & Low Books. 32 pages
Genres: Travel, Children's Books.

Unrated Critic Reviews for Elizabeti's School

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Lightning doesn’t strike twice, but this sweet sequel to the wonderful, award-winning Elizabeti’s Doll (1998) will hit a chord in any child who has had to care for a younger sibling.

| Read Full Review of Elizabeti's School (Elizabeti...

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Charmed by her new baby brother, Elizabeti decides that she wants a baby of her own;

| Read Full Review of Elizabeti's School (Elizabeti...

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

After all, her own shoes are much more comfortable than school shoes, her dress is softer and Obedi the cat has given birth to kittens right under Elizabeti’s bed.

| Read Full Review of Elizabeti's School (Elizabeti...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Fans of Elizabeti's Doll and Mama Elizabeti will welcome the third title in the series, Elizabeti's School by Stephanie Stuve-Bodeen, illus. by Christy Hale. Elizabeti looks forward to her first da

Sep 09 2002 | Read Full Review of Elizabeti's School (Elizabeti...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Carefully mimicking her mother, she bathes, feeds (her doll is ""too polite to burp"") and changes ""Eva,"" and when doing chores ties Eva to her back ""with a bright cloth called a kanga,"" just as her mother does.

| Read Full Review of Elizabeti's School (Elizabeti...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Fans of Elizabeti's Doll and Mama Elizabeti will welcome the third title in the series, Elizabeti's School by Stephanie Stuve-Bodeen, illus.

| Read Full Review of Elizabeti's School (Elizabeti...

Rate this book!

Add Review