Emergency Contact by Mary H. K. Choi

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Penny and Sam both enter the story with existing and mostly painful baggage around love and sex, so instead of heady elation, their journey feels more like one of slow healing. It's a different, more grown-up kind of romance but is no less heartfelt because of it.
-NPR

Synopsis

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn’t actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind.

Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.
 

About Mary H. K. Choi

See more books from this Author
 
Published March 27, 2018 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. 401 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Emergency Contact
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

NPR

Good
Reviewed by Caitlyn Paxson on Mar 29 2018

Penny and Sam both enter the story with existing and mostly painful baggage around love and sex, so instead of heady elation, their journey feels more like one of slow healing. It's a different, more grown-up kind of romance but is no less heartfelt because of it.

Read Full Review of Emergency Contact | See more reviews from NPR

Reader Rating for Emergency Contact
93%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 104 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×