Emotional Storm by Michael Eigen

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



"When two personalities meet, an emotional storm is created." This provocative quote by renowned psychoanalyst W.R. Bion is the point of departure for Eigen's new work. In the tradition of Martin Buber, Eigen explores the broad spectrum of emotions we experience in our relatedness to others, from feelings of longing, plenitude, and fulfillment to starvation, suffocation, and blind rage. Unlike authors of "easy" self-help books, Eigen embraces the storms of life as a critical aspect of our human bond. For Eigen, the emotional storm is not pathological, but rather integral to our humanity and instrumental to our growth and development. For this reason, he looks critically at our attempts to blunt our emotional response to the world around us. Like Eigen's other work, Emotional Storm weaves case studies, literary references, and psychoanalytic theory into an integrated, complex understanding.

About Michael Eigen

See more books from this Author
MICHAEL EIGEN is in private practice in New York. Author of numerous books, he is also Associate Clinical Professor of Psychology at New York University and a Senior Member of the National Psychological Association for Psychoanalysis.
Published May 19, 2005 by Wesleyan. 272 pages
Genres: Health, Fitness & Dieting, Self Help, Education & Reference. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Emotional Storm

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The prolific writer of eight previous books, seven of them released in the last eight years, Eigen here again records his most intimate associations and feelings, while educating the reader on various renowned writers and thinkers, such as W.R.

| Read Full Review of Emotional Storm

Rate this book!

Add Review