Every Good and Perfect Gift by Brenda Jernigan
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

In the tradition of Kaye Gibbons, Sheri Reynolds, and Dorothy Allison, Brenda Jernigan is an exciting and original Southern voice. This novel concerns a miraculous event -- with a contemporary spin -- that sets in motion a profoundly moving and often warmly human coming-of-age story. This is beautifully crafted writing, rich with unforgettable characters.

Every Good and Perfect Gift is set in a small town in North Carolina, a place that is comfortable with tradition, including the traditional image of God. On a sultry Sunday morning when ten-year-old Maggie Davidson swoons from the heat and sees God -- and God is a woman -- people are quick to ascribe her vision to the fantasies of an overheated girl. But when Maggie begins to demonstrate a gift of healing, people's attitudes change.
This is a story of a family of three strong women -- grandmother, mother, and daughter -- who live by the laws of love, loss, and pride. It is also the story of a community of good people gone wrong and bad people who find good in themselves. It is a knowingly detailed account of a particular part of America -- and of the wide landscape of human hearts and souls.
 

About Brenda Jernigan

See more books from this Author
Brenda Jernigan has perfect pitch and a wildly original mind. This novel is compelling -- a real page-turner!" -- Lee Smith, author of Fair and Tender Ladies
 
Published May 22, 2001 by Harmony. 288 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Every Good and Perfect Gift

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Maggie lives on the family farm with her mother, Lily, who was abandoned years ago by Maggie’s sweet-talking, no-good father, and with Granny, who still farms the spread and keeps everyone in line with tough love and homespun wisdom (“You can think yourself right into a corner if you try hard eno...

| Read Full Review of Every Good and Perfect Gift: ...

Reader Rating for Every Good and Perfect Gift
97%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 8 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review