Every Last Cuckoo by Kate Maloy

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles's sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone.

As grief settles in, Sarah's mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years they spent raising their three very different children; and her childhood during the Great Depression, when her parents opened their home to countless relatives and neighbors. So, when a variety of wayward souls come seeking shelter in Sarah's own big, empty home, her past comes full circle. As this unruly flock forms a family of sorts, they—with Sarah—nurture and protect one another, all the while discovering their unsuspected strengths and courage.

In the tradition of Jane Smiley and Sue Miller, Kate Maloy has crafted a wise and gratifying novel about a woman who gracefully accepts a surprising new role just when she though her best years were behind her.

About Kate Maloy

See more books from this Author
Kate Maloy is the author of the memoir "A Stone Bridge North: Reflections in a New Life". Her work has been published by "LiteraryMama.com, VerbSap.com", and the "Readerville Journal". She has forthcoming pieces in the "Kenyon Review" and two anthologies: "For Keeps" and "Choice". She lives with her husband on the central coast of Oregon.
Published May 12, 2009 by Algonquin Books. 292 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Every Last Cuckoo

Gather Books

Random Posts !!!, .....The Book Review....., Book Review Central, Book Reviewers For Hire, Books & Writing Corps, Family Values, Gather Books Essential, Random Musings

Feb 24 2008 | Read Full Review of Every Last Cuckoo

Reader Rating for Every Last Cuckoo

An aggregated and normalized score based on 87 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review