Everything But The Squeal by John Barlow
(new version with images)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

John Barlow, self-confessed glutton, found himself in a tricky situation: living in one of the most meat-loving places on earth, married to a vegetarian.  The Barlows live in Galicia, the misty-green northwest corner of Spain, and home to a population that reveres and consumes every part of the pig. This gets Barlow thinking about the nature of our relationship with food—what’s delicious, what’s nasty, and what sort of obligation we have to the animals we eat. Over the course of one glorious, bilious year, Barlow vows to eat everything but the squeal.  In his travels, Barlow takes part in the thousand-year-old antthrowing festival of Laza. He makes pig-bladder puddings for carnival. He washes down lots of pork with lots of wine.

In the tradition of Calvin Trillin and Anthony Bourdain, Everything but the Squeal is an adventure in extreme eating, a hilariously quirky travel book, and a perceptive look at how what we eat makes us who we are.
 

About John Barlow

See more books from this Author
\JOHN BARLOW studied English literature at Cambridge. He is the author of a collection of novellas, Eating Mammals, which won a Paris Review Discovery Prize, and the novel Intoxicated, which has been translated into four languages. He lives in Spain with his wife and son.
 
Published January 2, 2014 by Storm Books. 320 pages
Genres: Travel, Cooking, Education & Reference. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Everything But The Squeal

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The reason for all this overeating was that the Cambridge-educated writer, who makes his home in Spain with an understanding vegetarian wife, had decided to travel around Galicia, the country’s cold, remote and mulishly stubborn northwestern quadrant, and complete a self-issued challenge: “to eat...

Oct 01 2008 | Read Full Review of Everything But The Squeal (ne...

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

In this modest but enthusiastic addition to the Pig Lit canon, John Barlow recounts a year spent in Spain trying to eat every possible part of the pig.

Nov 26 2008 | Read Full Review of Everything But The Squeal (ne...

Review (Barnes & Noble)

A pressed pig head, his guide claims, has "twenty-four tastes," and indeed Barlow savors "a chorus of chattering pork voices" in what seems to be "an amazing pig cocktail."

Nov 10 2008 | Read Full Review of Everything But The Squeal (ne...

Bookmarks Magazine

In the tradition of Calvin Trillin and Anthony Bourdain, Everything but the Squeal is an adventure in extreme eating, a hilariously quirky travel book, and a perceptive look at how what we eat makes us who we are.

Nov 30 2008 | Read Full Review of Everything But The Squeal (ne...

Foodtripper

A whole year to eat every part of the pig?

Jun 30 2009 | Read Full Review of Everything But The Squeal (ne...

Reader Rating for Everything But The Squeal
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 21 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review