Exit Music by Ian Rankin
(Inspector Rebus)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 12 Critic Reviews



It's late in the fall in Edinburgh and late in the career of Detective Inspector John Rebus. As he is simply trying to tie up some loose ends before his retirement, a new case lands on his desk: a dissident Russian poet has been murdered in what looks like a mugging gone wrong.
Rebus discovers that an elite delegation of Russian businessmen is in town, looking to expand its interests. And as Rebus's investigation gains ground, someone brutally assaults a local gangster with whom he has a long history.
Has Rebus overstepped his bounds for the last time? Only a few days shy of the end to his long, controversial career, will Rebus even make it that far?

About Ian Rankin

See more books from this Author
Ian Rankin is a #1 international bestselling author. Winner of an Edgar Award and the recipient of a Gold Dagger for fiction and the Chandler-Fulbright Award, he lives in Edinburgh, Scotland, with his wife and their two sons.
Published September 17, 2008 by Little, Brown and Company. 422 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Exit Music

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Having reached mandatory retirement age, Detective Inspector John Rebus has just ten days left before leaving Edinburgh’s Gayfield Square police station.

Aug 01 2008 | Read Full Review of Exit Music (Inspector Rebus)

Book Reporter

Or could it be that we will visit John Rebus in his retirement, begrudgingly summoned to help on an impossibly tough case?

Jan 21 2011 | Read Full Review of Exit Music (Inspector Rebus)

Entertainment Weekly

Just days before he turns 60 — which, in Edinburgh, means mandatory retirement from the department — Detective Inspector John Rebus gets one last case, the murder of a dissident Russian poet, in Ian Rankin's Exit Music.

Sep 17 2008 | Read Full Review of Exit Music (Inspector Rebus)

The Bookbag

Summary: The final Rebus novel sees the retiring detective hunting the killer of a Russian dissident poet and in the frame himself for the assault on a local gangster.

Oct 09 2012 | Read Full Review of Exit Music (Inspector Rebus)

Reviewing the Evidence

Ian Rankin made it clear from the start that Inspector John Rebus's days were numbered.

| Read Full Review of Exit Music (Inspector Rebus)

MostlyFiction Book Reviews

There are so many novels on the market with new titles piling into bookshops every month, and sometimes it’s difficult to pick the substantive novels from the pap.

Oct 05 2009 | Read Full Review of Exit Music (Inspector Rebus)

Bookmarks Magazine

In the 17th—and reputedly final—novel to feature the Edinburgh detective (after The Naming of the Dead, 4 of 5 Stars Selection Mar/Apr 2007), John Rebus tries to solve what just might be his last case.

Sep 14 2008 | Read Full Review of Exit Music (Inspector Rebus)


Privacy Policy: This site is read-only at the user level, and thus collects no information on it's users.

| Read Full Review of Exit Music (Inspector Rebus)

Book Geeks

Exit Music is the 17th in Ian Rankin’s series of Inspector Rebus novels and the one that sees the grumpy bugger head off into retirement.

Oct 08 2008 | Read Full Review of Exit Music (Inspector Rebus)


Artswrap - Exit Music - Ian Rankin Search this site: Log In / Register Genr...

| Read Full Review of Exit Music (Inspector Rebus)


It’s the 17th instalment in the Rebus series, and the unthinkable is about to happen: our favourite crusty old detective inspector is retiring from the Edinburgh police force.

Nov 03 2007 | Read Full Review of Exit Music (Inspector Rebus)

Library Journal

F While John Rebus's legion of fans may be disappointed that this is the Edinburgh detective's last case, Edgar® and Gold Dagger® award winner Rankin gives the gruff chap a solid send-off in this 17th and final series entry.

Jan 21 2009 | Read Full Review of Exit Music (Inspector Rebus)

Reader Rating for Exit Music

An aggregated and normalized score based on 159 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review