Eye of the Red Tsar by Sam Eastland
A Novel of Suspense

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

BONUS: This edition contains an excerpt from Sam Eastland's Shadow Pass.

Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. Their bodies were hidden away, the location a secret of the Soviet state. A decade later, Pekkala, once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, is now Prisoner 4745-P, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. But the state needs Pekkala one last time. His mission: catch the assassins who slaughtered the Romanovs, locate the royal child rumored to be alive, and give Stalin the international coup he craves. Find the bodies, Pekkala is told, and you will find your freedom. 

In a land of uneasy alliances and lethal treachery, pursuing clues that have eluded everyone, Pekkala is thrust into the past where he once reigned. There he will meet the man who betrayed him and the woman he loved and lost in the fires of rebellion—and uncover a secret so shocking that it will shake to its core the land he loves.
 

About Sam Eastland

See more books from this Author
Sam Eastland is the author of Shadow Pass and Eye of the Red Tsar. He is the grandson of a London police detective who served in Scotland Yard's famous "Ghost Squad" during the 1940s. He lives in the United States and Great Britain and is currently working on his next novel.
 
Published April 12, 2010 by Bantam. 306 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Political & Social Sciences, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Eye of the Red Tsar

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

No one stood above the Emerald Eye, not even the Tsar himself.” Pekkala’s assignment is to investigate a crime with which he is all too familiar—the execution of the Romanov dynasty, including Tsar Nicholas II and his line—although Pekkala soon discovers that one member of the family may in fact ...

Apr 27 2010 | Read Full Review of Eye of the Red Tsar: A Novel ...

USA Today

In the tradition of Martin Cruz Smith and Tom Rob Smith, Sam Eastland pulls us into the culture and politics of Mother Russia in his highly imaginative ...

| Read Full Review of Eye of the Red Tsar: A Novel ...

Reader Rating for Eye of the Red Tsar
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 130 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×