Fair Ball by Derek Jeter
(Jeter Publishing)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

...by the end everyone is looking forward to an awesome summer. Fans of Jeter and Mantell’s earlier books will find more of the same here.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Inspired by Derek Jeter’s own life, Fair Ball is the fourth middle grade novel in the New York Times bestselling Jeter Publishing Program and focuses on the theme “the world isn’t always fair.”

Life isn’t always fair. You can’t control that, but you can control how you think and act when things don’t go your way. You have to hang in there and keep after it, not get down and give up.

Derek has a lot to look forward to. School is almost out, his baseball team is competing in the Westwood Little League Playoffs, and then he’ll head to his grandparents’ house for the summer. Sure, there are finals to study for first, but Derek doesn’t mind. Maybe this year he’ll get better grades than Gary. But when his best friend Dave starts to act strangely, ignoring Derek and canceling their plans, his summer isn’t looking quite so fun. What’s going on? Doesn’t he want to be Derek’s friend anymore?

Derek is so distracted by his problems with Dave that he makes a mistake in the outfield during a key play—and his team loses the game. It’s so unfair! With the championship at stake and finals looming, Derek needs to stay focused or risk everything.
 

About Derek Jeter

See more books from this Author
Derek Jeter is the starting shortstop for the New York Yankees and the founder of the Turn 2 Foundation. He divides his time between Tampa, Florida, and New York City. Jack Curry is a baseball columnist and reporter for The New York Times. He lives with his wife in New Jersey.
 
Published April 18, 2017 by Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books. 176 pages
Genres: Sports & Outdoors, Children's Books.
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Fair Ball
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Jan 17 2017

...by the end everyone is looking forward to an awesome summer. Fans of Jeter and Mantell’s earlier books will find more of the same here.

Read Full Review of Fair Ball (Jeter Publishing) | See more reviews from Kirkus
×