False Witness by Andrew Grant
A Novel (Detective Cooper Devereaux)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

It’s hard to see how the author continues with these subplots—Just how bad was Dad? Will Alexandra ever make up her mind?—without letting them get stale. Overall, a good story with a multilayered hero. The author’s fans won’t be disappointed.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Alabama police detective Cooper Devereaux chases a cunning serial killer terrorizing the city of Birmingham in this edge-of-your-seat thriller for readers of James Lee Burke, Craig Johnson, and Robert Crais.
                 
A woman disappears on her twenty-first birthday. The following day her body is found, wrapped neatly like a gift in a crumbling, sun-speckled graveyard. What does Detective Devereaux have to go on? Very little. No motive, no suspects. Then another victim is discovered in a crematorium parking lot. Again, she was killed on her twenty-first birthday. Again, her body was wrapped like a gift. By the third murder the tabloids have dubbed the homicidal monster the Birthday Killer—and Devereaux is under the gun.
                 
While Devereaux’s own violent and mysterious past nips at his heels, and his fragile home life threatens to unravel, he can’t afford to be anything but totally obsessed with the frantic search through the many layers of this city, from its wealthy enclaves to its dark criminal underbelly. The only certainty is that Devereaux is hunting a killer determined to fulfill a deranged agenda in which women’s lives are extinguished like candles on a cake.
 

About Andrew Grant

See more books from this Author
ANDREW GRANT is a former telecommunications executive and the younger brother of Lee Child. He divides his time between England and Chicago.
 
Published January 2, 2018 by Ballantine Books. 321 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Crime, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for False Witness
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Above average
on Oct 17 2017

It’s hard to see how the author continues with these subplots—Just how bad was Dad? Will Alexandra ever make up her mind?—without letting them get stale. Overall, a good story with a multilayered hero. The author’s fans won’t be disappointed.

Read Full Review of False Witness: A Novel (Detec... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for False Witness
72%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 15 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×