Family Secrets by Evelyn Vaughn
Books 1-4

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Who or what are the Extraordinary Five?

For fans of "Heroes" and "The X-Files," delve into the mysteries of Family Secrets with books 1-4. This first collection contains Enemy Mind by Maggie Shayne, Pyramid of Lies by Anne Marie Winston, The Player by Evelyn Vaughn and The Bluewater Affair by Cindy Gerard.


About Evelyn Vaughn

See more books from this Author
Maggie Shayne began her writing career in kindergarten, when she painstakingly copied The Brementown Musicians onto construction paper in full Crayola color, complete with illustrations of her own design, and presented it proudly to her teacher. Of course this was not an exact copy. She had tweaked the story a bit, improving it greatly, in her five-year-old opinion.By third grade her tastes had matured. At story hour, when it was her turn to choose the book from which the teacher would read, Maggie picked Poe's The Tell-Tale Heart, which she proceeded to recite from memory as the teacher began reading. Far from being suitably impressed, Maggie recalls her teacher seemed to pale a bit, and looked at her oddly from then on.Her fondness for the macabre stayed with her, as did her penchant for rewriting her favorite stories. As a teen, while watching her beloved Universal Pictures Monster Classics over and over, she became more and more certain someone had to fix the endings.It was so obvious that Dracula, the Wolfman, and the dusty Mummy had been cheated! These were not horror flicks, in her teenage opinion. They were romances.They portrayed a love that went beyond life itself. But the endings were all wrong. Anyone could see the monster was supposed to get the girl!Well, one marriage and five daughters later, Maggie has made it her mission in life to see to it that old wrongs are set right.Her stories range from down-home westerns (Texas Brand miniseries, Silhouette Books) to glitz (Million Dollar Marriage, 8/99) to modern-day fairy tales (her Avon contemporary titles).But her best love is the genre known as paranormal romance. And Maggie writes these like no other author. No one else writing today manages to combine the hearts of two such diverse genres as romance and horror, while still thrilling both segments of the readership with the stunning results.Shamelessly romantic, breathtakingly emotional, chilling in their suspense, with edge-of-the-seat tension, her stories capture the classic allure that makes beauty-and-the-beast tales so beloved--the key, is the redemption of the monster by the sheer power of love. Anne Marie Winston is a Pennsylvania native and former educator. She began reading romances a long, long time ago and still can't believe someone will actually pay her to read and write them!Always a book lover, Anne Marie didn't begin writing her first romance novel until 1989 when she was at home with two babies, too many diapers, and too much time to consider insane, risky career moves. She sold her first book, Best Kept Secrets, to Silhouette Desire in 1991 and now she has many more books of her own than babies (a good thing, too!)Anne Marie has received various awards from the romance writing industry. Both Substitute Wife and The Pregnant Princess topped the Waldenbooks bestseller list and several of her books have made USA Today's extended bestseller list. Her next three books are set in the Badlands of South Dakota.Anne Marie is a member of Romance Writers of America and Novelists, Inc. She is also a member of Washington Romance Writers, where she has twice served as both vice-president and retreat chairman. In 1991, she received WRW's Magic Crystal Award for outstanding service to the chapter--equal to at least two books' worth of blood, sweat, and the occasional tear.She also has been a featured speaker at numerous RWA chapters and at the national conference in addition to many organizations outside the industry. In 1998, she represented contemporary series romance fiction at a Smithsonian Institute Writing Seminar.Anne Marie and her family share their rural home with a houseful of four-legged critters. Her hobbies include figure skating, amateur theater and dance, working in her gardens, scrapbooking, canine rescue, and inhaling as much chocolate as humanly possible.She cooks only when she absolutely cannot avoid it and spends large quantities of time chauffeuring children to extra-curricular activities.You can learn more about Anne Marie on her web site at: or write to her at P.O. Box 302, Zullinger, PA 17272. Evelyn began writing stories as soon as she was able to hold a fat pencil and spell out words. She's been at it ever since.Fourth in a family of five children, Evelyn has lived in Virginia, Illinois, Arizona, Louisiana and finally Texas. She currently lives in Texas with her 17-year-old, one-eyed cat and her sweet-tempered cocker spaniel. She recently bought a house with a great yard, largely for the cocker spaniel, but she loves it, too.In her alternate life, she teaches writing and literature at Tarrant County College in the Dallas Fort Worth Metroplex. The only thing Cindy had in mind when she started writing her first book was finishing it. The issue of actually selling it came much later. Only after she made that life-altering first sale did she realize that one book would never be enough. Now, over 20 books and numerous awards later, Cindy laughingly admits that she can barely remember life before...well, was there life before writing?Actually, yes there was, and still is. A professional career woman, Cindy is a trainer for the Iowa Department of Human Services, a position she states is both challenging and rewarding. "Human Services is a front-line, real-life event. Everything about the job is immediate, from serving families in crisis, to assisting staff with difficult situations, to meeting tension-fraught deadlines." Cindy's career has taught her much about the human condition, its frailties, its strengths, and its spirit. The evocative emotions that pour from the pages of her books are a reflection of some of her work experiences. Her writing celebrates life's richness and trials, offering a wide range of emotions--hope and elation, anger and indecision, laughter and, of course, love. And, according to her readers, her powerful love scenes run the gamut from steamy to tender to lusty to just plain fun.Cindy's writing has netted her spots on bestseller lists, numerous RT nominations and awards, the Colorado Romance Writers Award of Excellence, a National Reader's Choice Award and two RITA nominations. Between writing and working full time you wouldn't think Cindy would have much time for anything else. And while she does find her work and her writing rewarding, there does have to be more. Cindy has more. Much more. She is happily married to the perfect man. Tom's a cowboy, ladies! Yes, even Iowa has its share of that saddle-straddling, Wrangler-wearing species who love their horses almost as much as they love their women. As a matter of fact, recently a whole herd of Texans gathered at the Gerard "Ranch" to treat their little ones to real horseback rides. Go figure. Cindy has a passion for pink depression glass--she always has her eye out for the special piece to add to her collection. Cindy's down time often takes the form of the classic "busman's holiday." She loves to read and most of all, she loves to read at their summer place, a cabin in the woods on Lake Kabetogama in northern Minnesota. Both Tom and Cindy enjoy gardening and have recently expanded their annual beds into a perennial garden. Cindy says she can hardly wait for spring and the promise of all that reawakening and the colorful blooms. In addition to the horses, the Gerards have two dogs, Ellie and Boomer, who pretty much get anything they want. Tom and Cindy have one son, Kyle, who, after years of keeping them in suspense, found Eileen, the perfect woman.
Published March 1, 2007 by Silhouette Special Releases. 737 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review