First Frost by James Henry
A Mystery

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

Those unfamiliar with David Jason’s portrayal of Frost on the screen may have a hard time figuring out what the fuss is about; for the rest, this serves as a credible backstory for a beloved character.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

The tantalizing prequel to the detective novels of the late R. D. Wingfield featuring Detective Jack Frost—in the vein of Jill Paton Walsh's reinvention of the works of Dorothy L. Sayers

"Brilliant! A must for all fans of Frost, but also so much more. Gripping, finely written . . . A classic, period crime thriller." Thus raves Peter James about A Touch of Frost, a prequel to the detective novels of R.D. Wingfield, who died in 2007.

In the tradition of Midsomer Murders, A Touch of Frost is one of England's longest running series of all time, and the gruff, non-conformist cop Jack Frost is as much a part of England's detective tradition as P.D. James's Adam Dalgleish or Colin Dexter's Inspector Morse. Now, by special arrangement with R.D. Wingfield's estate, this smashing new mystery has been written to give new life to this beloved policeman. In James Henry's First Frost, Detective Sergeant Jack Frost is dealing with the disappearance of his mentor. When a twelve-year-old girl goes missing from a department store changing room, Frost is put in charge of the case. Perfect for fans who have devoured A Touch of Frost on Netflix Instant as well as for those who love police procedurals, readers everywhere will applaud the return of detective Jack Frost in this pitch-perfect mystery.

 

About James Henry

See more books from this Author
JAMES HENRY is the pen name of James Gurbutt and Henry Sutton. Gurbutt is a publisher at Constable & Robinson, R.D. Wingfield's original publisher in the 1980s, and Sutton is a crime reviewer for The Daily Mirror. Both Gurbutt and Sutton live in London, England. 
 
Published July 23, 2013 by Minotaur Books. 353 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for First Frost
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Jun 20 2013

Gurbutt and Sutton pack enough incidents into their prequel to generate an entire season of A Touch of Frost. Die-hard Frost fans will be pleased...

Read Full Review of First Frost: A Mystery | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Above average
on May 13 2013

Those unfamiliar with David Jason’s portrayal of Frost on the screen may have a hard time figuring out what the fuss is about; for the rest, this serves as a credible backstory for a beloved character.

Read Full Review of First Frost: A Mystery | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Reader Rating for First Frost
69%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 36 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×