Five Summers by Una LaMarche

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

...it isn’t what I’d call subversive or challenging. There’s nothing wrong with that but this is what I’d call more of a relaxing comfort read than anything else.
-Dear Author

Synopsis

Bittersweet, funny, and achingly honest, Five Summers is a story of friendship, love, and growing up that is perfect for fans of Ann Brashares' The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants  and Judy Blume's Summer Sisters. 
 
Four best friends, five summers of camp memories
 
Emma, Skylar, Jo, and Maddie have all come back to camp for a weekend of tipsy canoe trips to the island, midnight skinny dipping in the lake, and an epic game of capture the flag—boys versus girls. But the weekend isn't quite as sunwashed as they'd imagined as the memories come flooding back. . . .

The summer we were nine: Emma was branded “Skylar’s friend Emma” by the infamous Adam Loring . . .
The summer we were ten: Maddie realized she was too far into her lies to think about telling the truth . . .
The summer we were eleven: Johanna totally freaked out during her first game of Spin the Bottle . . .
The summer we were twelve: Skylar’s love letters from her boyfriend back home were exciting to all of us—except Skylar . . .
Our last summer together: Emma and Adam almost kissed. Jo found out Maddie’s secret. Skylar did something unthinkable . . . and whether we knew it then or not, five summers of friendship began to fall apart.

 A young adult book with a friendship story that will last long after the last s'more is gone.
 

About Una LaMarche

See more books from this Author
Una LaMarche is a journalist and blogger whose work has appeared in the New York Observer and the Huffington Post. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and their new baby. Read her blog at www.sassycurmudgeon.com and follow her on Twitter at twitter.com/sassycurmudgeon. 
 
Published May 16, 2013 by Razorbill. 385 pages
Genres: Young Adult, Literature & Fiction, Children's Books, Romance. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Five Summers
All: 2 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 1

Dear Author

Above average
Reviewed by Jia on Jun 10 2013

...it isn’t what I’d call subversive or challenging. There’s nothing wrong with that but this is what I’d call more of a relaxing comfort read than anything else.

Read Full Review of Five Summers | See more reviews from Dear Author

Kirkus

Below average
on Mar 27 2013

...this debut feels long and may not contain enough real substance to appeal to even the most avid of summer-camp fans.

Read Full Review of Five Summers | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Five Summers
89%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 34 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×