Flatterland by Ian Stewart
Like Flatland, Only More So

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



First there was Edwin A. Abbott's remarkable Flatland, published in 1884, and one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics. Now, from mathematician and accomplished science writer Ian Stewart, comes what Nature calls "a superb sequel." Through larger-than-life characters and an inspired story line, Flatterland explores our present understanding of the shape and origins of the universe, the nature of space, time, and matter, as well as modern geometries and their applications. The journey begins when our heroine, Victoria Line, comes upon her great-great-grandfather A. Square's diary, hidden in the attic. The writings help her to contact the Space Hopper, who tempts her away from her home and family in Flatland and becomes her guide and mentor through ten dimensions. In the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Phantom Toll Booth, this magnificent investigation into the nature of reality is destined to become a modern classic.

About Ian Stewart

See more books from this Author
Ian Stewart is Emeritus Professor of Mathematics and active researcher at the University of Warwick. He is also a regular research visitor at the University of Houston, the Institute of Mathematics and Its Applications in Minneapolis, and the Santa Fe institute. His writing has appeared in New Scientist, Discover, Scientific American, and many newspapers in the U.K. and U.S. He lives in Coventry, England.
Published August 1, 2008 by Basic Books. 321 pages
Genres: Science & Math, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Professional & Technical. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Flatterland

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

He also wanted to have some fun: in Flatterland, set a century after the events of Flatland, the precocious adolescent Vikki Line learns that her great-great-grandfather Albert Square (a Square who learned that he, too, could become a Circle) died in prison.

| Read Full Review of Flatterland: Like Flatland, O...

Reader Rating for Flatterland

An aggregated and normalized score based on 45 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review