Fools And Other Stories by Njabulo Ndebele

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Fools & Other Stories is an intricate and subtle collection that deals with the formative experiences of growing up in a Johannesburg township during the apartheid years.‘Fools’, the title story of the collection, is a tale of generations in the struggle against oppression. Zamani, a disgraced middle-aged teacher and Zani, a young student activist, are inadvertently bound together by affection and hostility in an intense and unpredictable relationship. Finding each other means finding the common ground of their struggle. It also means re-examining their lives – and, notably – their relationships with women.‘The Test’, ‘The Prophetess’ and ‘The Music of the Violin’ describe an act of courage and endurance; a close encounter with an awe-inspiring old woman; a choice which must be made between the narrow ambitions of middle-class parents and the challenge of the township streets. ‘Uncle’ celebrates the gift of one generation to another: a gift that mingles music with other adventures of the spirit, recklessness with resourcefulness, and laughter with wisdom.This reissue of, arguably, Ndebele’s most famous work, confirms his position as one of South Africa’s premier short story writers. None of the stories are diminished by time and remain as compelling as when they first made their appearance. A must-read, especially for those with an interest in story-telling of the highest order.

About Njabulo Ndebele

See more books from this Author
Romance author Jayne Ann Krentz was born in Borrego Springs, California on March 28, 1948. She received a B.A. in history from the University of California at Santa Cruz and a Masters degree in library science from San Jose State University. Before becoming a full-time author, she worked as a librarian. Her novels include: Truth or Dare, All Night Long, and Copper Beach. She has written under seven different names: Jayne Bentley, Amanda Glass, Stephanie James, Jayne Taylor, Jayne Castle, Amanda Quick and Jayne Ann Krentz. Her first book, Gentle Pirate, was published in 1980 under the name Jayne Castle. She currently uses only three personas to represent her three specialties. She uses the name Jayne Ann Krentz for her contemporary pieces, Amanda Quick for her historical fiction pieces, and Jayne Castle for her futuristic pieces. She has received numerous awards for her work including the 1995 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Trust Me, the 2004 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Falling Awake, the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award, the Romantic Times Jane Austen Award, and the Susan Koppelman Award for Feminist Studies for Dangerous Men and Adventurous Women: Romance Writers on the Appeal of the Romance.
Published September 1, 2006 by Picador Africa. 320 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Education & Reference. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Fools And Other Stories

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In this collection of five lean, earthy stories, Ndebele examines the complexities of life for black South Africans confined to that country's numerous townships. He displays an impressive deftness at

| Read Full Review of Fools And Other Stories

Rate this book!

Add Review