Forged by Bart D. Ehrman
Writing in the Name of God--Why the Bible's Authors Are Not Who We Think They Are

60%

5 Critic Reviews

Unfortunately Forged’s bogs down in Ehrman’s repetitive writing. He’s clearly exasperated by claims from his peers...He provides enough evidence to refute these points, but then keeps attacking other scholars by relentlessly repeating his arguments.
-AV Club

Synopsis

Bart D. Ehrman, the New York Times bestselling author of Jesus, Interrupted and God’s Problem reveals which books in the Bible’s New Testament were not passed down by Jesus’s disciples, but were instead forged by other hands—and why this centuries-hidden scandal is far more significant than many scholars are willing to admit. A controversial work of historical reporting in the tradition of Elaine Pagels, Marcus Borg, and John Dominic Crossan, Ehrman’s Forged delivers a stunning explication of one of the most substantial—yet least discussed—problems confronting the world of biblical scholarship.

 

About Bart D. Ehrman

See more books from this Author
Bart D. Ehrman is the author of more than twenty books, including the New York Times bestselling Misquoting Jesus, God’s Problem, and Jesus, Interrupted. Ehrman is the James A. Gray Distinguished Professor of Religious Studies at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and is a leading authority on the Bible and the life of Jesus. He has been featured in Time and has appeared on NBC Dateline, The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, CNN, History Channel, major NPR shows, and other top media outlets. He lives in Durham, N.C.
 
Published March 22, 2011 by HarperOne. 325 pages
Genres: History, Religion & Spirituality, Education & Reference. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Forged
All: 5 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 3

Kirkus

Above average

Though many of Ehrman’s theories are not new, his approach will be controversial...Gloves-are-off review of New Testament authorship.

Read Full Review of Forged: Writing in the Name o... | See more reviews from Kirkus

AV Club

Below average
on May 19 2011

Unfortunately Forged’s bogs down in Ehrman’s repetitive writing. He’s clearly exasperated by claims from his peers...He provides enough evidence to refute these points, but then keeps attacking other scholars by relentlessly repeating his arguments.

Read Full Review of Forged: Writing in the Name o... | See more reviews from AV Club

Patheos

Above average
on Mar 30 2011

While there may not be a great wealth of things I agree with Bart Ehrman about, I do agree that it is helpful to question the acceptability of pseudepigraphical letters.

Read Full Review of Forged: Writing in the Name o...

Patheos

Above average
on Feb 26 2011

Nevertheless, to the extent that the book’s subtitle leads readers to expect a focus primarily on the Bible, some will find the amount of attention given to Biblical texts to be less than they expected.

Read Full Review of Forged: Writing in the Name o...

The Gospel Coalition

Above average

However, Ehrman’s level of confidence that the NT definitely contains forgeries is not commensurate with the arguments he puts forth to prove that thesis...comes across as more autobiographical than academic; more polemical than historical

Read Full Review of Forged: Writing in the Name o...

Reader Rating for Forged
78%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 267 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×