Four Queens by Nancy Goldstone
The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

For fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser,acclaimed author Nancy Goldstone’s thrilling history of the royal daughters who succeeded in ruling—and shaping—thirteenth-century Europe

Set against the backdrop of the thirteenth century, a time of chivalry and crusades, troubadors, knights and monarchs, Four Queens is the story of four provocative sisters—Marguerite, Eleanor, Sanchia, and Beatrice of Provence—who rose from near obscurity to become the most coveted and powerful women in Europe.  Each sister in this extraordinary family was beautiful, cultured, and accomplished but what made these women so remarkable was that each became queen of a principal European power—France, England, Germany and Sicily. During their reigns, they exercised considerable political authority, raised armies, intervened diplomatically and helped redraw the map of Europe.  Theirs is a drama of courage, sagacity and ambition that re-examines the concept of leadership in the Middle Ages.
 

About Nancy Goldstone

See more books from this Author
NANCY GOLDSTONE's previous books include Four Queens: The Provençal Sisters Who Ruled Europe and The Lady Queen: The Notorious Reign of Joanna I, Queen of Naples, Jerusalem, and Sicily. She has also coauthored five books with her husband, Lawrence Goldstone. She lives in Westport, Connecticut.
 
Published April 19, 2007 by Penguin Books. 436 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, History, Travel, Business & Economics, Political & Social Sciences, Education & Reference. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Four Queens

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Third sister Sanchia, the most beautiful and timid, was married off to Henry’s gruff younger brother, Richard of Cornwall, and endured an unhappy, short life as queen of Germany before dying at age 35.

| Read Full Review of Four Queens: The Provencal Si...

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

A history of four siblings in the 13th century who married very well.

May 27 2007 | Read Full Review of Four Queens: The Provencal Si...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

On Goldstone's (coauthor of The Friar and the Cipher ) rich, beautifully woven tapestry, medieval Europe springs to vivid life, from the lavish menus of the royal banquets and the sweet songs of the troubadours to the complex machinations of the pope against the Holy Roman Emperor.

| Read Full Review of Four Queens: The Provencal Si...

Entertainment Weekly

Political power was rare for women in medieval Europe — except perhaps for the four daughters of the count of Provence: intelligent Marguerite, ambitious Eleanor, beautiful Sanchia, and feisty Beatrice.

Apr 20 2007 | Read Full Review of Four Queens: The Provencal Si...

Reader Rating for Four Queens
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 54 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×