Four Seasons in Five Senses by David Mas Masumoto
Things Worth Savoring

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Rushing from One thing to Another, we lose sight of the art of living, which for California farmer David Mas Masumoto is also the art of farming. Not fast farming, of the kind that produces fast food, but slow farming, the kind that notices each change of light and temperature and produces peaches with juice that runs down your chin.

On the farm, appreciating the fruits of one's own labor requires all the senses: smell that knows when a peach is ready to be picked; sight that observes the health of a season's crop; touch that measures the weight of a fruit; hearing that recognizes each voice that calls out across the fields; and taste that savors the refreshing tang of a fruit at that perfect moment of ripeness. Taking us into his fields to witness the cycle of the harvest, Masumoto reminds us that we must stop living on the run in order to savor the world around us.


About David Mas Masumoto

See more books from this Author
David Mas Masumoto is the author of Harvest Son and Epitaph for a Peach. His organic farm is in Del Rey, California.
Published January 1, 2003 by W. W. Norton & Company. 256 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Cooking, Science & Math, Nature & Wildlife. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Four Seasons in Five Senses

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Masumoto is particularly adept at conveying the junction at which tradition and modernity meet, describing the difficulties of choosing how to sticker his fruit and of following it to market, or portraying a visit by ten food editors from national magazines who “found it hard to slow their stride...

| Read Full Review of Four Seasons in Five Senses: ...

Reader Rating for Four Seasons in Five Senses

An aggregated and normalized score based on 7 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review