Freeze Dry by Corson Hirschfeld

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

From the bestselling author of Aloha, Mr. Lucky and Too High

"Fans of Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiassen looking for more of the same could help this series catch fire."-Publishers Weekly

Shickie Doone is one of the best con men on the planet. After his latest scam as the leader of a phony religious group called the Brothers of Light doesn't pay quite what he expected, he borrows some cash from local mobster Thadeus Trout. When Shickie takes off with the money, he angers not only Trout, but also his own conniving wife, Rita Rae Deaver.
Trout sends his bumbling son and his buddies to bring in Doone, only one of the henchmen "accidentally" leaves him in a deep freezer for too long, turning the con man into a naked mummy. Eager to dispose of his mistake before his easily angered boss finds out, Doone is dropped into a sinkhole where no one will ever find him . . . only someone does.
Once word spreads of the discovery, a number of groups step up to claim it, including Jimmy Feather, a Native American certain that the mummy is that of his ancient ancestor; the Brothers of Light, convinced the remains are the second coming of their leader after his mysterious "rapture" into heaven; and a senior citizen hitman known as The Hammer, not to mention Shickie's wife and her secret hot-blooded lover, Orlando.
As each group sets out after the body, vowing to let nothing stop them, a series of hilarious and unbelievable events occur that allow the onetime shyster to slip through their fingers again and again . . . and perhaps even have the last con of all.
 

About Corson Hirschfeld

See more books from this Author
Once active in zoology, Corson Hirschfeld has been a professional photographer for many years, working on assignment for corporations and magazines. His photographs of the world's sacred sites (which can be seen on his website) have shown at the Smithsonian Institution and other museums. As a writer, Corson has been drawn to whacky Americana and such less-than-sacred places as Waikiki, Las Vegas, and Gatlinburg, Tennessee. Freeze Dry is Corson's third novel, following Aloha, Mr. Lucky, and Too High (all from Forge). Corson Hirschfeld lives in Cincinnati, with occasional forays into terra incognita.
 
Published October 1, 2003 by Forge Books. 464 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Freeze Dry

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The henchman attempts to dispose of the unwanted corpse, but the body is discovered, resulting in several improbable people attempting to claim Shickie for themselves, including Jimmy Feather (a Native American convinced the mummy is his ancestor), the Brothers of Light and a senior hit man known...

| Read Full Review of Freeze Dry

Reader Rating for Freeze Dry
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 8 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×