From the Journals of M.F.K. Fisher by M.F.K. Fisher

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


"M.F.K. Fisher is to literary prose," wrote the Chicago Sun-Times, "what Laurence Olivier is to acting."  From the Journals of M.F.K. Fisher combines into one volume three acclaimed collections of journals, correspondence, and short stories, the earliest piece written when Fisher was nineteen and the last composed shortly before her death in 1992, at age eighty-three.

"To Begin Again" gives us a portrait of Fisher's early years, from her family's migration to California in 1912 to her first marriage in 1929. Here she begins to learn about the art of "living well gastronomically" and acquires an appreciation for the nurturance of both body and soul. "Stay Me, Oh Comfort Me" presents a candid portrait of the most traumatic period of Fisher's life -- her divorce from her husband, her marriage to their friend Dillwyn Parrish, and Parrish's tragic illness and death.  "Last House" offers a wry look at an artist grappling with old age and illness, and a poignant remembrance of the experiences that shaped her life's work.

Filled with humor, wisdom, and beautifully crafted prose, this collection will introduce to a new generation the life and work of one of the most beloved writers of our era.

About M.F.K. Fisher

See more books from this Author
The author of more than twenty books, including As They Were, Sister Age, and Two Towns in Provence (all available from Vintage Books), M.F.K. Fisher spent most of her life in France and California.
Published October 26, 1999 by Pantheon. 848 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Biographies & Memoirs, History. Non-fiction