Geography of Saints by Penny Allen

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

A delightful western memoir, for readers who love Pam Houston and Melissa Banks.

A Geography of Saints is a fascinating and clear-eyed account of the author's first year caretaking a horse ranch outside Saints, Oregon. In language as terse as Tom McGuane, as wondrous as Rachel Carson, Penny Allen tells of challenges both natural and human: the predations of clear-cut logging, how the cult of Rajneeshpuram took over the town of Antelope, the crucial and ceaseless importance of water on the desert, the odd security provided by a reclusive Vietnam vet "on patrol"; in the forest, and the highs and lows of a love affair conducted in Big Sky country.

"Allen is a writer of extraordinary talent. A gem of a book." -Mary Dearborn

"Allen sculpts prose that is physical, melodically clear, and mesmerizingly dangerous." -Katherine Dunn

"A wonderful portrait of life in the high desert of Oregon. A very inspiring book."-Gus Van Sant

Originally from Portland, Oregon, Penny Allen is a filmmaker and writer living in Paris. She has written articles and book reviews for The New York Times and The International Herald Tribune. A Geography of Saints is her first book.

 

About Penny Allen

See more books from this Author
Allen is a filmmaker and writer.
 
Published May 1, 2001 by Zoland Books. 224 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Geography of Saints

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

In the little town of Saints, Oregon, as she skillfully documents, those hatreds swirled around the vast complex called Rajneeshpuram, where followers of an Indian guru set themselves squarely at odds with locals who wore baseball caps emblazoned with slogans like “Official Wasco County Bigot.” T...

| Read Full Review of Geography of Saints

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Through it all, Allen writes beautifully about nature, the profound emotional and spiritual effect of living on the ranch and her series of self-discoveries.

| Read Full Review of Geography of Saints

ForeWord Reviews

One day, toward the end of her time in Saints, Allen discovered: “Some days I felt angry alone on the ranch and thought I would surely die there angry and alone and no one would know.” She and Peter left for Paris, but he returned a year later, becoming a permanent fixture in the geography of S...

Apr 15 2001 | Read Full Review of Geography of Saints

Reader Rating for Geography of Saints
97%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 7 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review