Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this charming young adult romance that’s perfect for fans of Julie Murphy’s Dumplin’ and Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda.

Joanna Gordon has been out and proud for years, but when her popular radio evangelist father remarries and decides to move all three of them from Atlanta to the more conservative Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: to lie low for the rest of her senior year. And Jo reluctantly agrees.

Although it is (mostly) much easier for Jo to fit in as a straight girl, things get complicated when she meets Mary Carlson, the oh-so-tempting sister of her new friend at school. But Jo couldn’t possibly think of breaking her promise to her dad. Even if she’s starting to fall for the girl. Even if there’s a chance Mary Carlson might be interested in her, too. Right?

 

About Jaye Robin Brown

See more books from this Author
Jaye Robin Brown lives in the mountains of Western North Carolina and teaches art at a public high school. No Place to Fall is her first book. Find Jaye online at www.jayerobinbrown.com, on Twitter @JayeRobinBrown, and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/jayerobinbrown.  
 
Published August 30, 2016 by HarperTeen. 432 pages
Genres: Religion & Spirituality, Romance, Gay & Lesbian, Literature & Fiction, Parenting & Relationships. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit

Gr 9 Up—Brown orchestrates a fast-paced narrative that is powerful, moving, and relatable. Jo Gordon, a proudly queer teen, has recently been uprooted from her home in Atlanta to a more rural part of the state during her senior year of high school. Her father also has recently remarried, is a man...

Aug 01 2016 | Read Full Review of Georgia Peaches and Other For...
×