Ghana Must Go by Taiye Selasi

82%

5 Critic Reviews

As a writer she has a keen sense of the baggage of childhood pain and an unforgettable voice on the page. Miss out on “Ghana Must Go” and you will miss one of the best new novels of the season.
-The Economist

Synopsis

A stunning novel, spanning generations and continents, Ghana Must Go by rising star Taiye Selasi is a tale of family drama and forgiveness, for fans of Zadie Smith and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

This is the story of a family -- of the simple, devastating ways in which families tear themselves apart, and of the incredible lengths to which a family will go to put itself back together.

It is the story of one family, the Sais, whose good life crumbles in an evening; a Ghanaian father, Kweku Sai, who becomes a highly respected surgeon in the US only to be disillusioned by a grotesque injustice; his Nigerian wife, Fola, the beautiful homemaker abandoned in his wake; their eldest son, Olu, determined to reconstruct the life his father should have had; their twins, seductive Taiwo and acclaimed artist Kehinde, both brilliant but scarred and flailing; their youngest, Sadie, jealously in love with her celebrity best friend. All of them sent reeling on their disparate paths into the world. Until, one day, tragedy spins the Sais in a new direction.

This is the story of a family: torn apart by lies, reunited by grief. A family absolved, ultimately, by that bitter but most tenuous bond: familial love.

Ghana Must Go interweaves the stories of the Sais in a rich and moving drama of separation and reunion, spanning generations and cultures from West Africa to New England, London, New York and back again. It is a debut novel of blazing originality and startling power by a writer of extraordinary gifts.

'Ghana Must Go is both a fast moving story of one family's fortunes and an ecstatic exploration of the inner lives of its members. With her perfectly-pitched prose and flawless technique, Selasi does more than merely renew our sense of the African novel: she renews our sense of the novel, period. An astonishing debut' Teju Cole, author of Open City

Taiye Selasi was born in London and raised in Massachusetts. She holds a B.A. in American Studies from Yale and an M.Phil. in International Relations from Oxford. "The Sex Lives of African Girls" (Granta, 2011), Selasi's fiction debut, appears in Best American Short Stories 2012. She lives in Rome.

 

About Taiye Selasi

See more books from this Author
TAIYE SELASI was born in London and raised in Massachusetts. She holds a B.A. in American studies from Yale and an M.Phil. in international relations from Oxford. “The Sex Lives of African Girls” (Granta, 2011), Selasi's fiction debut, will appear in Best American Short Stories 2012. She lives in Rome.
 
Published April 4, 2013 by Penguin. 348 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, History. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
1
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Ghana Must Go
All: 5 | Positive: 5 | Negative: 0

NY Times

Good
Reviewed by NELL FREUDENBERGER on Mar 08 2013

As the novel follows the Sais to Accra, and to Kweku’s native village, Selasi’s descriptions of people and landscapes take on a new energy.

Read Full Review of Ghana Must Go | See more reviews from NY Times

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Diana Evans on Apr 03 2013

There are faint reminders of Toni Morrison in the intensity and mystery of the storytelling...

Read Full Review of Ghana Must Go | See more reviews from Guardian

Financial Times

Good
Reviewed by Fatima Bhutto on Apr 12 2013

It is more heartfelt, more powerful, more concerned with the things we wish to hide – failure, loneliness, shame – than the glories we would revel in.

Read Full Review of Ghana Must Go | See more reviews from Financial Times

Toronto Star

Above average
Reviewed by Laura Eggertson on Mar 15 2013

Ultimately, the novel is one of hope and family reunification, which seems entrenched in Selasi's own experiences.

Read Full Review of Ghana Must Go | See more reviews from Toronto Star

The Economist

Excellent
on Mar 16 2013

As a writer she has a keen sense of the baggage of childhood pain and an unforgettable voice on the page. Miss out on “Ghana Must Go” and you will miss one of the best new novels of the season.

Read Full Review of Ghana Must Go | See more reviews from The Economist

Reader Rating for Ghana Must Go
76%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 286 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Rebecca Kilbane

Rebecca Kilbane 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

×