Ghost Milk by Iain Sinclair
Recent Adventures Among the Future Ruins of London on the Eve of the Olympics

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

...he is far too fond of Nazi analogies: to call the construction of a shopping mall "the final solution" is not just offensive but unserious.
-NPR

Synopsis

From "an astonishingly original and entertaining writer" (Michael Dirda, The Washington Post) and "our greatest guide to London" (The Spectator), an extraordinary book about a disappearing city

The Olympics, the story goes, have transformed London into a gleaming, wholly modern city. And East London—Olympic headquarters—is the city's new jewel, provider of unlimited opportunities and better tomorrows. The grime and poverty have been scrubbed away, and huge stadiums and grand public sculptures have taken their place.

The writer Iain Sinclair has lived in East London for four decades, and in Ghost Milk, he tells a very different story about his home: that of a neighborhood turned upside down, of stolen history. Long-beloved parks have vanished; police raids can occur at any time; and high-security exclusion zones—enforced by armed guards and hidden cameras—have steamrolled East London's open streets and public spaces. To prepare for the most public of events, everything has been privatized.

A call to arms against the politicians and public figures who have so doggedly preached the gospel of the Olympics, Ghost Milk is also a brilliant reflection on a changing landscape—and Sinclair's most personal book yet. In an attempt to understand what has happened to his beloved city, Sinclair travels farther afield: he walks along the Thames from the North Sea to Oxford; he rides the bus across northern England; he visits Athens and Berlin, Olympic sites of the recent and distant past.

Elegiac, intimate, and audacious, Ghost Milk is at once a powerful chronicle of memory and loss, in the tradition of W. G. Sebald and Roberto Bolaño, and a passionate interrogation of our embrace of progress at any cost.

 

About Iain Sinclair

See more books from this Author
Iain Sinclair is the author of many books, including Downriver, Lights Out for the Territory, London Orbital, and Hackney, That Rose-Red Empire. He lives in Hackney, East London.
 
Published July 17, 2012 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux. 417 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Sports & Outdoors, Travel. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Ghost Milk
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

NPR

Below average
Reviewed by Jason Farago on Jul 25 2012

...he is far too fond of Nazi analogies: to call the construction of a shopping mall "the final solution" is not just offensive but unserious.

Read Full Review of Ghost Milk: Recent Adventures... | See more reviews from NPR

Rate this book!

Add Review
×