Ghost in the Machine by Ed James
(Scott Cullen Mysteries 1)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating

Synopsis

‘Classic Scottish noir: bad food, bad moods, too much booze and tight plots’ @ey0k1, Twitter

For fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart McBride and Christopher Brookmyre, Ghost in the Machine is the novel that introduced readers to ambitious maverick Detective Constable Scott Cullen, whose series has set the bestseller charts alight.


With a messy divorce behind her, Caroline Adamson’s future is finally looking up. But after her mutilated body is found, police think Caroline’s ex-husband is the main suspect.

When one murder becomes three, Edinburgh faces up to the fact that it might have a serial killer in its midst. Then DC Scott Cullen of Lothian and Borders CID starts to question his superiors. Could the answer lie with Schoolbook, the latest social media craze to hit the city? Cullen has only been in the job for three months but he’s determined to prove himself, and equally as determined that the right person faces justice. As things take an even darker, personal turn, Cullen realises that he must look closer to home for the answer – before it’s too late.

A gritty, gripping and wholly satisfying modern crime novel, Ghost in the Machine asks the questions we don’t like to ask ourselves. Are we ever safe online, and how do we know who to trust?


Reviews for Ghost in the Machine

‘Rebus has a young pretender to his throne … [An] excellent read’ Andy Caskey, Amazon five-star review

‘Scott Cullen is superb … Excellent plot, brilliant location, realistic characters and great dialogues. You'd be mad not to try it. If you’re into the crime genre, Ed James is a must-have for your collection’ Brian Smith, Amazon five-star review

‘Fresh and exciting … Scott Cullen brings a wonderful energy to the world of the police procedural … I’ll definitely be reading more in the series’ nigelpbird.blogspot.co.uk

‘Up there with the best … managed to keep me guessing right to the end … Here’s hoping DC Scott Cullen has a long career in law enforcement’ Phil Moore, Amazon five-star review

‘Scary and topical. I loved it’ Rroberta Stableford, Amazon five-star review

‘Rankin for the X-box generation’ Noj, Amazon five-star review
 

About Ed James

See more books from this Author
Ed James writes crime fiction, predominantly the Scott Cullen series of police procedurals set in Edinburgh and the surrounding Lothians. Ed also writes science fiction and mainstream fiction, but with a crime bent.Ed lives in the East Lothian countryside, 25 miles east of Edinburgh, with his girlfriend, six rescue moggies, two retired greyhounds and a flock of ex-battery chickens. He works in IT, but doesn't wear sandals or have a beard.His blog - edjamesauthor.com - is a log of his work, his thoughts on his writing, and a place for his word count OCD to express itself. His music tastes will creep in now and again.
 
Published April 14, 2012 394 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Crime, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Reader Rating for Ghost in the Machine
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 304 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review