Gideon's Corpse by Douglas Preston

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

Fans of Preston and Child’s...may want to take a pass on the unremarkable second Gideon Crew thriller...whose lead could be cut-and-pasted into any number of books by less gifted genre writers.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

A top nuclear scientist goes mad and takes an innocent family hostage at gunpoint, killing one and causing a massive standoff.
A plume of radiation above New York City leads to a warehouse where, it seems, a powerful nuclear bomb was assembled just hours before.
Sifting through the evidence, authorities determine that the unthinkable is about to happen: in ten days, a major American city will be vaporized by a terrorist attack.
Ten days. And Gideon Crew, tracking the mysterious terrorist cell from the suburbs of New York to the mountains of New Mexico, learns the end may be something worse--far worse--than mere Armageddon.
 

About Douglas Preston

See more books from this Author
The thrillers of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child "stand head and shoulders above their rivals" (Publisher's Weekly). Coauthors of the famed Pendergast series, their books Relic and The Cabinet of Curiosities were chosen by readers in a National Public Radio poll as being among the 100 greatest thrillers ever written, and Relic was made into a number one box office hit movie. They are also the authors of Fever Dream, Cold Vengeance and Gideon's Sword. Preston's acclaimed nonfiction book, The Monster of Florence, is being made into a movie starring George Clooney. Lincoln Child is a former book editor who has published four novels of his own, including the huge bestseller Deep Storm. The authors welcome e-mail from their readers; you can visit their website at www.prestonchild.com.
 
Published January 10, 2012 by Grand Central Publishing. 371 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Action & Adventure, War, Horror, Crime. Fiction
Bestseller Status:
icon14
Peak Rank on Jan 29 2012
icon1
Weeks as Bestseller
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Gideon's Corpse
All: 3 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Good
on Dec 19 2011

With sufficient Crews back story to give new readers the low-down, the authors adhere to a winning formula.

Read Full Review of Gideon's Corpse | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Below average
on Nov 28 2011

Fans of Preston and Child’s...may want to take a pass on the unremarkable second Gideon Crew thriller...whose lead could be cut-and-pasted into any number of books by less gifted genre writers.

Read Full Review of Gideon's Corpse | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Book Reporter

Good
Reviewed by Roberta O'Hara on Jan 12 2012

Preston and Child never fail to entertain. And GIDEON’S CORPSE is a thriller that ranks high among their many co-authored offerings to date.

Read Full Review of Gideon's Corpse

Reader Rating for Gideon's Corpse
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 659 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review