Gillespie and I by Jane Harris
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 17 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

From the Orange Prize-nominated author of The Observations comes an absorbing, atmospheric exploration of one young woman’s friendship with a volatile artist and her place in the controversy that consumes him. Jane Harris’s Gillespie and I presents a strongly voiced female protagonist evocative of Moll Flanders and Becky Sharp, who offers a keen sensibility, deeply felt observations, and poignant remembrances of the world of a young artist in turn-of-the-century Glasgow in this fantastic work of historical fiction. London’s Sunday Times calls Gillespie and I “a literary novel where the storytelling is as skilful as the writing is fine.” Fans of The Piano Teacher and The Thirteenth Tale will find it irresistible and unforgettable.
 

About Jane Harris

See more books from this Author
Jane Harris’s short stories have appeared in a wide variety of anthologies and magazines, and she has written several award-winning short films.
 
Published January 31, 2012 by Harper Perennial. 625 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Gillespie and I

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

(On that point, how the Victorians managed to reproduce is a subject of mystery.) All this happens in a short span of pages, at the end of which Harris gives us to understand that things are not going to end well.

Feb 01 2012 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

From the vantage point of the 1930s Harriet writes enviously of the freedoms of the modern woman – her right to vote, to work, to own property – but it is the freedom of self-knowledge, the deeper psychological understanding that was to be the legacy of Freud and his peers, that Harriet, as a Vic...

May 21 2011 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

When I read the past reviews from creditable publications such as Kirkus Reviews this book really peaked my interest, and I felt honored to write a review for this book.

Feb 17 2012 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

The climax of Ned’s younger daughter Rose’s kidnapping and eventual death really hit my reader’s trigger, with this criminal tragedy leading the narrator Harriet as the prime suspect, most notably an English prime suspect facing Scottish Law.

Feb 17 2012 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

The Independent

Faber £7.99 Confessions of a Victorian groupie A curious, creepy novel set in 19th-century Glasgow, with flash-forwards to the 1930s, Gillespie and I is not easy to review because the most striking thing about it is the hidden story that emerges as one reads, and that can't be revealed withou...

Jan 15 2012 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

The Independent

A curious, creepy novel set in 19th-century Edinburgh, with flash-forwards to the 1930s, Gillespie and I is narrated by Harriet Baxter, who befriends the up-and-coming Scottish artist Ned Gillespie in the 1880s, and in old age decides to set the record straight about their relationship and the tr...

Dec 16 2012 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

The Telegraph

A fortuitous dramatic encounter, in which she saves the life of elderly stranger Elspeth Gillespie, catapults Harriet into the chaotic heart of the Gillespie family – primarily the lives of Elspeth’s son Ned, a promising, struggling artist, his wife Annie and their two small daughters.

May 04 2011 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

The Telegraph

But – for this reader at least – these discrepancies provoke incredulity rather than curiosity.

May 25 2011 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

Suite 101

Will is a loner and happy to be so but even he cannot fail to be touched and affected when weird kid, Marcus enters his life.

Jun 05 2011 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

The Bookbag

If you like well written, psychologically interesting books that involve the reader having to make their own opinions on the story, then you will absolutely love this book.

Mar 21 2012 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

Express

SET in Victorian Glasgow, Harriet Baxter befriends the family of Ned Gillespie, an up-and-coming artist, just as the Gillespies’ idyllic family life starts to fall apart.

Jul 10 2011 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

Express

IT is April 1933 and Harriet Baxter is in the early stages of writing the memoir of her friend and soulmate Ned Gillespie.

Jan 13 2012 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

PopMatters

Jane Harris’s debut novel The Observations was my pick for 2006’s book of the year, a smart, snappy historical novel set in Victorian-era Scotland whose colorful cast of characters was simultaneously eccentric and thoroughly believble.

Mar 06 2012 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

Historical Novel Society

Harriet Baxter is sitting in her flat in Bloomsbury in 1933 writing her memoir of events that took place in Glasgow in 1888 at the time of the International Exhibition.

| Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

The Roanoke Times

Though she works to portray herself as a tirelessly helpful woman committed to the advancement of the arts, Harriet slowly reveals her true character as the story progresses.

Mar 22 2012 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

The New Zealand Herald

A revolutionary law change which creates a legal recreational drugs market in New Zealand is expected to have near-unanimous… Critics accuse Govt of RMA 'power grab' Government ministers will have a "disturbing" ability to intervene in resource consents and diminish the role of the Environmen...

May 30 2011 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

New Zealand Listener

Those many readers who adored Jane Harris’s first novel, The Observations, will be delighted with her latest sparkling offering, Gillespie and I.

Jun 25 2011 | Read Full Review of Gillespie and I: A Novel

Reader Rating for Gillespie and I
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 27 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×