Giovanni Felice Sances by Giovanni Felice Sances
Motetti a 2, 3, 4, e cinque voci (1642) (Recent Researches in the Music of the Baroque Era, 148)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


This edition presents a collection of twenty-five motets (for two to six voices and continuo) published by the imperial court composer Giovanni Felice Sances (ca. 1600-1679) in 1642, a critical year of the Thirty Years' War (1618-48). Many aspects of the collection, such as the dedication to Count Vilem Slavata (as well as other external features), the choice of motet texts, and how the music enhances the words, demonstrate a close relationship between this book and Habsburg politics and piety, making the print an effective means of propaganda for Holy Roman Emperor Ferdinand III (r. 1637-57). In addition, the edition provides a valuable cross-section of mid-seventeenth-century musical style, with works ranging from various concertato styles to more staid da cappella works. Contents: 1. O Domine Jesu 2. O bone Jesu 3. Quot maris sunt guttae 4. Si criminum 5. Honestum fecit 6. Veni sponsa Christi 7. Lauda Sion Salvatorem 8. Salve Regina 9. Quid mihi est in caelo 10. Domine ne in furore tuo 11. Benedicta et venerabilis 12. Alma Redemptoris Mater 13. Iste Sanctus 14. O Crux benedicta 15. Veni Sancte Spiritus 16. Te Deum Patrem ingenitum 17. O beata Maria 18. Caro mea 19. Audi Domine 20. Deus propitius esto 21. Gaude Virgo 22. Mulierem fortem 23. Alma Redemptoris Mater 24. Salve Regina 25. Letanie della B. V.

About Giovanni Felice Sances

See more books from this Author
Published December 31, 2007 by A-R Editions.
Genres: Arts & Photography.