Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

Though the disasters in Stokes’s calamity-filled plotline occur with soap-operatic frequency, the progression of Maguire’s treatment unfolds convincingly as she attempts the various cognitive behavioral challenges her therapist sets before her.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

From the author of The Art of Lainey and Liars, Inc. comes a fresh, contemporary story about a girl coping with PTSD and the boy who wants to help her move on from the past.  Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen or Jenny Han.

Sixteen-year-old Maguire knows the universe is against her. No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when she's around. Like that time the roller coaster jumped off its tracks. Or the time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash--and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch. Despite what her therapist tells her, Maguire thinks it's best to hide out in her room, far away from anyone she might accidentally hurt. But then she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star who wants to help her break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for him is to stay away, but it turns out staying away may be harder than she thought.
 

About Paula Stokes

See more books from this Author
Paula Stokes currently lives in St. Louis, MO. She is part writer, part RN, and 100% thrilled to be part of the world of YA literature. When she’s not hunched over her laptop (rare), she’s kayaking, hiking, reading, or seeking out new adventures in faraway lands. Paula’s future goals include shark diving, learning Krav Maga, and writing a whole boatload of novels, not necessarily in that order. Under the pseudonym Fiona Paul, she is the author of Venom, the first book in the Secrets of the Eternal Rose trilogy (Penguin). You can visit her online at www.paulastokes.com. 
 
Published May 17, 2016 by HarperTeen. 405 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction, Sports & Outdoors. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Girl Against the Universe
All: 2 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Above average
on Feb 17 2016

Though the disasters in Stokes’s calamity-filled plotline occur with soap-operatic frequency, the progression of Maguire’s treatment unfolds convincingly as she attempts the various cognitive behavioral challenges her therapist sets before her.

Read Full Review of Girl Against the Universe | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Above average
on May 28 2018

Though Maguire’s struggle with her perceived bad luck is meant to be the plot’s key hook, its true appeal lies with Stokes’s well-developed characters—Maguire’s caring family, her new best friend, her insightful therapist—and in the way Maguire and Jordy support each other’s efforts to conquer the challenges they face.

Read Full Review of Girl Against the Universe | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Reader Rating for Girl Against the Universe
92%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 82 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×