Girl Mans Up by M-E Girard

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Girard forcefully conveys the fear Pen lives with, having experienced frequent mockery and bullying, and her courage in aspiring to a safe, loving community for herself and her friends.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist * Entertainment Weekly Best YA Book of 2016 * Children’s Book Council Books Best Book of 2016 * Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Coming-of-Age Novel of 2016 and Best Teen Book of 2016 with Unforgettable Protagonists * Publishers Weekly Fall 2016 Flying Starts

All Pen wants is to be the kind of girl she’s always been. So why does everyone have a problem with it? They think the way she looks and acts means she’s trying to be a boy—that she should quit trying to be something she’s not. If she dresses like a girl, and does what her folks want, it will show respect. If she takes orders and does what her friend Colby wants, it will show her loyalty.

But respect and loyalty, Pen discovers, are empty words. Old-world parents, disintegrating friendships, and strong feelings for other girls drive Pen to see the truth—that in order to be who she truly wants to be, she’ll have to man up.

Perfect for fans of Meredith Russo, Becky Albertalli, Alex Sanchez, and Jaye Robin Brown!

 

About M-E Girard

See more books from this Author
M-E Girard is a Canadian writer of contemporary fiction—mostly young adult fiction, sometimes new adult fiction, usually queer fiction, and always about girls. Girl Mans Up is her debut novel. M-E was a fellow of the 2013 and 2015 Lambda Writers Retreat for Emerging LGBT Voices. Her writing has appeared in Plenitude magazine. M-E is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators and the Writers’ Community of Durham Region. You can visit M-E online at www.megirard.com, on Twitter as @ME_Girard, or on Instagram as @m_e_girard.
 
Published September 6, 2016 by HarperCollins. 384 pages
Genres: Gay & Lesbian, Literature & Fiction, Romance. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Girl Mans Up
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
on Sep 25 2016

Girard forcefully conveys the fear Pen lives with, having experienced frequent mockery and bullying, and her courage in aspiring to a safe, loving community for herself and her friends.

Read Full Review of Girl Mans Up | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Reader Rating for Girl Mans Up
95%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 37 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×