Girl With Glass Feet by Ali Shaw

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

An inventive and richly visual novel about young lovers on a quest to find a cure for a magical ailment, perfect for readers of Alice Hoffman


Strange things are happening on the remote and snowbound archipelago of St. Hauda's Land. Unusual winged creatures flit around the icy bogland, albino animals hide themselves in the snow-glazed woods, and Ida Maclaird is slowly turning into glass. Ida is an outsider in these parts, a mainlander who has visited the islands only once before. Yet during that one fateful visit the glass transformation began to take hold, and now she has returned in search of a cure.


Midas Crook is a young loner who has lived on the islands his entire life. When he meets Ida, something about her sad, defiant spirit pierces his emotional defenses. As Midas helps Ida come to terms with her affliction, she gradually unpicks the knots of his heart. Love must be paid in precious hours and, as the glass encroaches, time is slipping away fast. Will they find a way to stave off the spread of the glass?


The Girl with Glass Feet is a dazzlingly imaginative and magical first novel, a love story to treasure.

 

About Ali Shaw

See more books from this Author
Ali Shaw's first novel, the critically acclaimed The Girl with Glass Feet, won the Desmond Elliot Prize, was shortlisted for the Costa First Book Award and the Crawford Award, and was an IndieNext pick.
 
Published January 4, 2010 by Henry Holt and Co.. 304 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Girl With Glass Feet

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Emotional entanglements on a faraway frozen island are shaped by romance and tragedy in a melancholic yet whimsical British debut.

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of Girl With Glass Feet

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The cold northern islands of St. Hauda's Land are home to strange creatures and intertwining human secrets in Shaw's earnest, magic-tinged debut. Ida Maclaird returns to the archipelago t

Sep 07 2009 | Read Full Review of Girl With Glass Feet

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

This fantastically imagined first novel about a woman whose feet are turning to glass blends fairy tale, myth and psychological realism.

Jan 10 2010 | Read Full Review of Girl With Glass Feet

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

Here he chooses his top ten stories of transformation.

Jul 29 2010 | Read Full Review of Girl With Glass Feet

The Washington Times

See more reviews from this publication

A fairy tale; a fable; an allegory; a fantasy. Ali Shaw's first novel, "The Girl With Glass Feet," is a combination of all that. It's the story of a pretty young woman who is slowly - and then rapidly - turning into glass, beginning with what feels like a pebble in her shoe, which turns out to be...

Mar 26 2010 | Read Full Review of Girl With Glass Feet

Reader Rating for Girl With Glass Feet
62%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 67 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×