Glass Girl by Laura Anderson Kurk
(A Young Adult Novel)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

GLASS GIRL offers up a story of mercy as vast and unending as the Wyoming sky. A delicately powerful book.
~Darby Karchut, author of GRIFFIN RISING and FINN FINNEGAN.

Kurk's literary style shows a respect for her readers that challenges and inspires. GLASS GIRL is a smart, emotional story.
~Nicole O'Dell, author of the Diamond Estates series

Meg's story is emotionally gripping and beautifully raw. Kurk writes in a lyrical, sincere way that pulls you into the story and won't let you go. A stunning debut!
~Stephanie Morrill, author of The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series and THE REVISED LIFE OF ELLIE SWEET

Teeming with haunting, reflective prose, GLASS GIRL has utterly stolen my heart. Fans of Gayle Forman and Nina LaCour will forever be in love with this book.
~ Jennifer Murgia, author of the Angel Star series and BETWEEN THESE LINES

GLASS GIRL is a stunning story of loss and gain that will find its way into your heart and remain there.
~Laura L. Smith, author of the Status Updates series and HOT

Kurk’s beautifully rendered characters will no doubt inspire courage and commitment in the hearts of her readers.
~Sharon Brown, author of SENSIBLE SHOES



"The ice cold fear I’d felt, not knowing if Wyatt was alive, pressed into the wall with other girls and surrounded by guys who were unspeakably brave, hit my body again in a wave. This was trauma—the gift that keeps on giving."

When Meg Kavanagh finds herself in the unthinkable role of grieving sister, she discovers some harsh truths—parents aren’t perfect, life’s not always sweet, and the dead don’t write back. Her famous artist mom grieves by slowly disappearing, and her dad copes by moving them to a small town in Wyoming.

What she finds in Wyoming blindsides her.

His name is Henry, and he’s a rancher’s son who pulls Meg into his larger-than-life world and shows her that being sensitive is not an excuse to sit this one out. Meg learns that the best things in life—like falling in love and finding mercy—require uncommon courage. And with the help of a strange set of friends, a locker room disaster, and a trip she’ll never forget, she finds that the things she thought would break her—school violence, loneliness, and separation—can be overcome.

From YA author Laura Anderson Kurk comes a heartfelt story of first love and family ties. Fans of Deb Caletti and Sara Zarr will appreciate Kurk’s authentically imperfect characters and emotional storytelling.

---------------------------------

Laura Anderson Kurk writes unconventional and bittersweet contemporary YA. Her debut novel, GLASS GIRL, is available now and a sequel, PERFECT GLASS, releases in June 2013. Laura lives in Texas with her husband and two children.
 

About Laura Anderson Kurk

See more books from this Author
 
Published March 26, 2013 by Playlist Fiction. 264 pages
Genres: Young Adult, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Romance. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Glass Girl

http://www.clashentertainment.com

I love that I feel as if I made a new friend in Meg and I haven't learned all she has to teach me.

Apr 09 2013 | Read Full Review of Glass Girl (A Young Adult Novel)

Reader Rating for Glass Girl
97%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 88 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review