Going Home by A. American

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 16 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Book 1 of The Survivalist Series

If society collapsed, could you survive?

When Morgan Carter’s car breaks down 250 miles from his home, he figures his weekend plans are ruined. But things are about to get much, much worse: the country’s power grid has collapsed. There is no electricity, no running water, no Internet, and no way to know when normalcy will be restored—if it ever will be. An avid survivalist, Morgan takes to the road with his prepper pack on his back.

During the grueling trek from Tallahassee to his home in Lake County, chaos threatens his every step but Morgan is hell-bent on getting home to his wife and daughters—and he’ll do whatever it takes to make that happen. 

Fans of James Wesley Rawles, William R. Forstchen's One Second After, and The End by G. Michael Hopf will revel in A. American's apocalyptic tale.
 

About A. American

See more books from this Author
A. American has been involved in prepping and survival communities since the early 1990s. An avid outdoorsman, he has a spent considerable time learning edible and medicinal plants and their uses as well as primitive survival skills. He currently resides in North Carolina on the edge of the Pisgah National Forest with his wife of more than twenty years and his three daughters. He is the author of Going Home and Surviving Home. His third novel, Escaping Home, will be published this fall.
 
Published June 25, 2013 by Plume. 528 pages
Genres: Action & Adventure, War, Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Going Home

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

While it's pretty typical for a kid from Africa to have been listening to Marley, and the fact he was listening to Newman was surprising, what really shocked me was he had heard of Jackson Browne let alone had listened to him in The Cameroon.

Aug 23 2010 | Read Full Review of Going Home

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

David Eisenhower was President Eisenhower’s only grandson, and no doubt the apple of his eye.

Nov 19 2010 | Read Full Review of Going Home

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Emotionally, Graham repeated for Eisenhower what he had said to him before, reminded Eisenhower of God’s promise of salvation, and the ways this promise is revealed in scripture.” On March 28, 1969, and as the men of the family, including grandson David “formed a line abreast at the foot of Gran...

Nov 19 2010 | Read Full Review of Going Home

Entertainment Weekly

I'm Going Home (2002) Is there a secret spirit-of-youth elixir being passed around among the world's senior filmmakers?

Sep 04 2002 | Read Full Review of Going Home

Los Angeles Times

See more reviews from this publication

David Eisenhower's touching memoir of his grandfather's final years raises an uncomfortable issue for 21st century Republicans.

Dec 05 2010 | Read Full Review of Going Home

Christian Science Monitor

Americans liked Ike, whom they repeatedly voted their most admired fellow citizen, right up until the day he died in 1969, more than nine years after vacating the White House.

Dec 07 2010 | Read Full Review of Going Home

PopMatters

Live: Going Home offers listeners a rare chance to hear the band—in a live environment, no less—synthesize blues, rock, swing, country, and rockabilly in a way that no other band before or since has done.

Apr 12 2004 | Read Full Review of Going Home

Seattle PI

Long before it was popular, or safe, to be writing and recording music critical of American foreign policy, Browne was one of the few mainstream musicians who put aside his career ambitions to write a series of albums containing songs openly critical of the Reagan administration and American impe...

Apr 26 2011 | Read Full Review of Going Home

The Space Review

Defying Gravity’s arc In October 2009, soon after Defying Gravity was canceled, show creator James Parriott responded to television blogger Keith McDuffee’s questions about the show with a surprising amount of detail and candor (“How Defying Gravity would have progressed, straight from the creat...

Dec 20 2010 | Read Full Review of Going Home

Chicago Tribune

I worry that it might be impossible to share with anyone who doesn’t have a background similar to Rhoda Janzen’s the wicked pleasure that comes from a glance at her title: Mennonite in a Little Black Dress.

Dec 01 2009 | Read Full Review of Going Home

Reviews St. Louis

Four more contestants packed their bags and are heading home tonight after Thursday’s “American Idol.” Two guys and two girls said their goodbyes, as the top 10 on both sides took another drop in numbers.

| Read Full Review of Going Home

Reviews St. Louis

America decided that 16-year-old Haeley Vaughn just didn’t have what it took to stay in the competition.

| Read Full Review of Going Home

Reviews St. Louis

Get to know Michelle Delamor from Miami, Florida: Semifinalist Michelle Delamor is excited to pursue her dream, but she has to step away from teaching choir to children at church.

| Read Full Review of Going Home

Reviews St. Louis

Jermaine Purifoy is a jazz singer who auditioned two seasons ago.

| Read Full Review of Going Home

Reviews St. Louis

What do you think of the contestants that were voted off?

| Read Full Review of Going Home

American Chronicle

Part memoir and part travelogue, Jason Alster with his Leaving Home, Going Home, Returning Home: A Hebrew American's Sojourn in the Land of Israel reminisces about his experiences when he made Aliyah to Israel in 1984 at the age of twenty-eight, and where he lived until returning to the USA in 2007.

Apr 22 2010 | Read Full Review of Going Home

Reader Rating for Going Home
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1296 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×