Golden Lies by Barbara Freethy

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The lives of three families collide and intersect in this wonderfully intriguing new drama
-RT Book Reviews

Synopsis

From #1 NYT Bestselling Author Barbara Freethy comes a romantic and suspenseful novel.

Every family has secrets -- some too intriguing to resist ... some too dangerous to ignore ...

A novel about three remarkable families -- the fifty-year-old promise that once bound them together, the fiery betrayal that tore them apart, and the ancient bronze dragon that could destroy their future ...

Riley McAllister, Paige Hathaway, and Alyssa Chen come from very different worlds. Tough guy Riley has overcome the hard knocks of a working-class upbringing. Paige struggles to define her place as the heir to a famous antiques emporium. And Alyssa feels trapped by the restrictions of her family's old world attitudes. Now this unlikely trio of strangers must come together to follow an elusive trail through the streets of San Francisco -- from glittering Pacific Heights to colorful Chinatown to trendy south of Market. Each will have to make the impossible choice between romantic love and family loyalty, between sheltering lies and revealing truth. Once the door to the past is opened, there's no turning back ...

Reviews for RITA finalist Golden Lies ...

"Golden Lies is an absolute treasure, a fabulous, page-turning combination of romance and intrigue. Fans of Nora Roberts and Elizabeth Lowell will love Golden Lies." Kristin Hannah

"Freethy's smooth prose, spirited storytelling and engaging characters, are sure to send readers on a treasure hunt for the author's backlist books." Publishers Weekly

"A priceless Chinese artifact, an ancient curse, and a decades-old betrayal set the stage for this gripping story, which unites the grandchildren from three diverse, yet strangely linked, families and sweeps them from the rarified world of high-priced antiques to the fragrant alleys of San Francisco's Chinatown on an urgent quest to unravel the past's secrets. Multidimensional characters at all levels (especially the strong-willed hero and heroine), realistic and sometimes funny dialog, and a well-constructed plot that Freethy unwraps with such consummate skill that the conclusion is at once surprising and totally logical result in a rich and compelling tale." Library Journal

"The lives of three families collide and intersect in this wonderfully intriguing new drama by bestselling author Freethy." Romantic Times Magazine

OTHER ROMANTIC SUSPENSE TITLES by Barbara Freethy
DON'T SAY A WORD
ALL SHE EVER WANTED
SILENT RUN & SILENT FALL (Sanders Brothers Duo)
TAKEN & PLAYED (Deception Duo)

 

About Barbara Freethy

See more books from this Author
A native California, Barbara Freethy has lived at both ends of the state. While she misses the hot summer nights of Southern California, she enjoys the beautiful bays and hillsides of Northern California, as well as the exciting and intriguing city of San Francisco.
 
Published November 12, 2013 by Fog City Publishing, LLC. 416 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction, Action & Adventure. Fiction
Bestseller Status:
icon20
Peak Rank on Feb 12 2012
icon4
Weeks as Bestseller
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Golden Lies
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

RT Book Reviews

Good

The lives of three families collide and intersect in this wonderfully intriguing new drama

Read Full Review of Golden Lies

Reader Rating for Golden Lies
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 203 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×