Goldstrike by Matt Whyman
A Thriller (Carl Hobbes Thriller)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Carl Hobbes may have escaped from Camp Twilight—the most secure military prison in the northern hemisphere—but now he’s being pursued by a ruthless bounty hunter and an Al-Qaeda assassin. Wanted dead by one and alive by the other, he must call upon his skills as a manipulator of both systems and people to survive. With no second chances available, can he play one enemy against the other in his bid to live another day? Packed with action and a plot that doesn’t quit, Goldstrike is a riveting teen thriller in the vein of Anthony Horowitz and James Patterson.
 

About Matt Whyman

See more books from this Author
Matt Whyman is a distinctive contemporary voice in children’s and adult writing. After graduating from the University of East Anglia’s MA in Creative Writing, Matt’s career as a writer has taken him from Agony Uncle columns (Bliss magazine and AOL) and teen self-help guides to the cutting edge of both adult and children’s fiction. His critically acclaimed young adult novel Boy Kills Man was short-listed for several awards, including the 2004 Teenage Book Prize, and praised by Melvin Burgess: ‘Bold, chilling and beautifully written’. It is currently in development as a feature film with the producers of the cult film Kidulthood. Matt is married with four children (and an enormous dog) and lives in West Sussex, England.
 
Published February 23, 2010 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers. 272 pages
Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Goldstrike

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Find galloping suspense and action here in the first sequel to Whyman’s Icecore (2007), wherein falsely accused young British superhacker Carl Hobbes escaped from an arctic American prison camp for terrorists.

| Read Full Review of Goldstrike: A Thriller (Carl ...

The Bookbag

In fairness, I might not have been quite so invested in Hobbes and what happened to him because I've not read Inside the Cage, so I do recommend reading that before Goldstrike.

Oct 24 2009 | Read Full Review of Goldstrike: A Thriller (Carl ...

Rate this book!

Add Review
×