Good Kids by Benjamin Nugent
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

By dropping those larger plot questions, he ends up with an intriguing central character surrounded by an array of interesting friends and family members, but no discernable arc or strong point to make. Like Josh’s adolescent feelings for Khadijah, it’s a lot of emotional buildup with no consummation.
-AV Club

Synopsis

The critically acclaimed author of American Nerd makes his fiction debut with this romantic tragicomedy about a teenage boy and girl who discover his dad is having an affair with her mom. For readers of Chad Harbach and Jennifer Egan, and fans of filmmakers like Noah Baumbach.

At fifteen, Josh Paquette and Khadijah Silverglate-Dunn catch Josh’s father and Khad ijah’s mother kissing in a natural foods store. As both of their families fall apart, the teenagers sign a pact never to cheat on anyone, ever. They have no problem keeping the vow—until they meet again at twentyeight, both struggling with career and identit y, and both engaged to other people.

Acclaimed author Benjamin Nugent’s fiction debut is a hilarious, sad, handsomely plotted story of love and class. Stylistically adventurous but always accessible, Nugent trains a keen ear on the vernaculars of Generation Y and the baby boomers, as the young and middle-aged try to decide what parenting, background, and loyalty mean in an America struggling to redefine virtue.
 

About Benjamin Nugent

See more books from this Author
Benjamin Nugent's nonfiction has appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, Time, and n+1, and his fiction has appeared in Tin House. He holds an MFA in fiction from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, where he was an Iowa Arts fellow. Director of Creative Writing at Southern New Hampshire University, he teaches fiction and nonfiction in its MFA and undergraduate programs. He grew up in Amherst, Massachusetts.
 
Published January 29, 2013 by Scribner. 226 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Good Kids
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

AV Club

Above average
Reviewed by Kevin McFarland on Jan 28 2013

By dropping those larger plot questions, he ends up with an intriguing central character surrounded by an array of interesting friends and family members, but no discernable arc or strong point to make. Like Josh’s adolescent feelings for Khadijah, it’s a lot of emotional buildup with no consummation.

Read Full Review of Good Kids: A Novel | See more reviews from AV Club

Reader Rating for Good Kids
43%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 22 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×