Good as Gone by Amy Gentry

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

This smart, crisply written thriller begins with a “ripped from the headlines” premise, but broadens to explore themes ranging from the mothering of daughters to the inwardness of suburban life...
-Star Tribune

Synopsis

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic—but Anna, Julie’s mother, has whispers of doubts.  She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.
 
Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and keep readers guessing until the final pages.
 

About Amy Gentry

See more books from this Author
AMY GENTRY is a book reviewer for the Chicago Tribune whose work has also appeared in Salon, LA Review of Books, and the Best Food Writing of 2014. Good as Gone is her first novel.
 
Published July 26, 2016 by Mariner Books. 289 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Good as Gone
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Above average
on May 30 2016

These back-and-forth points of view which eventually dovetail in the big reveal (and the big reversal) are a popular tactic for the emotional thriller...Debut novelist Gentry delivers on genre expectations with crisp, unobtrusive writing and well-executed plot twists.

Read Full Review of Good as Gone | See more reviews from Kirkus

Star Tribune

Good
Reviewed by MARIAN RYAN on Jul 29 2016

This smart, crisply written thriller begins with a “ripped from the headlines” premise, but broadens to explore themes ranging from the mothering of daughters to the inwardness of suburban life...

Read Full Review of Good as Gone | See more reviews from Star Tribune

Reader Rating for Good as Gone
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 65 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×