Grace by Richard Paul Evans
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews



A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box, The Gift, and The Christmas List. The New York Times bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption.

She was my first kiss. My first love. She was a little match girl who could see the future in the flame of a candle. She was a runaway who taught me more about life than anyone has before or since. And when she was gone my innocence left with her.

As I begin to write, a part of me feels as if I am awakening something best left dead and buried, or at least buried. We can bury the past, but it never really dies. The experience of that winter has grown on my soul like ivy climbing the outside of a home, growing until it begins to tear and tug at the brick and mortar.

I pray I can still get the story right. My memory, like my eyesight, has waned with age. Still, there are things that become clearer to me as I grow older. This much I know: too many things were kept secret in those days. Things that never should have been hidden. And things that should have.

About Richard Paul Evans

See more books from this Author
Richard Paul Evans is the number one international bestselling author of The Christmas Box and seventeen consecutive New York Times bestsellers. He is also the winner of the American Mothers Book Award and two first-place Storytelling World Awards.
Published October 4, 2008 by Simon & Schuster. 337 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Religion & Spirituality. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Grace

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Although the book is not specifically religious, Alan clearly shows his spirituality and cares deeply about who he is.

May 08 2012 | Read Full Review of Grace: A Novel

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The animal soon becomes an unlikely hero and instant media darling by rescuing rock star Rick Alaimo's small daughter from drowning when Grace snoops about an estate once owned by Stuart's distant relatives and now occupied by the celebrity and his supremely dysfunctional family.

| Read Full Review of Grace: A Novel

Book Reporter

Not quite halfway through his journey to walk from Seattle to Key West, Alan Christoffersen departs Custer, South Dakota, searching for the “hope that life might still be worth living and for the grace to accept” what he must live without.

May 25 2012 | Read Full Review of Grace: A Novel

Book Reporter

Set in 1962, GRACE is a coming-of-age novel with a very unusual plot.

Jan 22 2011 | Read Full Review of Grace: A Novel

“The Grace Card’’ is less about church than the community that gathers there, even if that community includes a Christian family therapist (Dawntoya Thomason) and a mysterious dashiki-clad man who represents Mac’s biggest spiritual challenge.

Feb 25 2011 | Read Full Review of Grace: A Novel

Reader Rating for Grace

An aggregated and normalized score based on 149 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review