Graveminder by Melissa Marr

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 12 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

“No one builds worlds like Melissa Marr.”
—Charlaine Harris
 
“Welcome to the return of the great American gothic.”
—Del Howison, Bram Stoker Award-winning editor of Dark Delicacies
 
“A deliciously creepy tale that is as skillfully wrought as it is spellbindingly imagined.”
—Kelley Armstrong

Anyone who adores dark fantasy, horror, and paranormal suspense is going to love Graveminder, a hauntingly atmospheric tale of the walking dead—and the living who are charged with keeping them at rest—from Melissa Marr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Wicked Lovely series. A young woman returns to the rural small town of her adolescence only to discover it is cursed ground bordering the land of the dead in this spectacularly imagined supernatural tale that will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris, Joe Hill, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Neil Gaiman, and Carol Goodman.

 

About Melissa Marr

See more books from this Author
Melissa Marr is the author of the New York Times bestsellers Wicked Lovely, Ink Exchange, Fragile Eternity, Radiant Shadows, and Darkest Mercy as well as Graveminder, her first novel for adult readers. She lives in Virginia. You can visit her online at www.melissa-marr.com or follow her on Twitter (@melissa_marr).
 
Published May 17, 2011 by HarperCollins e-books. 352 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Romance. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Graveminder

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Maylene Barrow is Claysville's graveminder, a thing far different from a sexton caring for a cemetery's grounds.

Jun 01 2011 | Read Full Review of Graveminder

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Rebekkah Barrow returns to the town of Claysville following the brutal murder of her grandmother, Maylene.

Aug 29 2011 | Read Full Review of Graveminder

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Byron grew up in Claysville and went on to live other places, practicing his trade as funeral director, but he came home to Claysville a few months ago and knew he was there to stay.

Jun 28 2011 | Read Full Review of Graveminder

Examiner

Claysville is no typical american town, however...No one ever gets sick in Claysville and the government regulates literally EVERYTHING...For some reason, people who are born in Claysville can never stay gone for long, and if they do, they just end up dying before their time.

Jan 13 2012 | Read Full Review of Graveminder

Examiner

As the matriarch of the family, Maylene welcomed Rebekkah into the family with open arms.

Feb 03 2012 | Read Full Review of Graveminder

New York Journal of Books

See more reviews from this publication

Secrets are hidden all over the town of Claysville but they are only six feet deep in many places—and some of the dead have trouble “staying where you put them.”In Melissa Marr’s latest book readers get a peek into the modern world of zombies.

May 17 2011 | Read Full Review of Graveminder

RT Book Reviews

Search books by title, genre, publication month, publication year, and rating or search by any combination of these options (i.e.

| Read Full Review of Graveminder

RT Book Reviews

Search books by title, genre, publication month, publication year, and rating or search by any combination of these options (i.e.

May 11 2011 | Read Full Review of Graveminder

USA Today

If not properly minded — and Rebekkah must learn how it's done — they come back from the dead and wreak havoc on the living.And Rebekkah has to learn quickly.

May 31 2011 | Read Full Review of Graveminder

Seattle PI

However, Maylene and Byron's father, her Undertaker, decided not to tell Rebekkah and Byron of their status and coming duties, hoping to spare them the burden of knowledge for a while.

Jun 28 2011 | Read Full Review of Graveminder

io9

For years, Rebekkah has bounced from city to city.

Jun 14 2011 | Read Full Review of Graveminder

Chaotic Compendiums

I got this one free on my Kindle so I gave it a whirl...like you I don't always like the YA paranormal stuff...seems so silly at times...this one I liked though.

Jun 18 2011 | Read Full Review of Graveminder

Reader Rating for Graveminder
71%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 280 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×