Gypsy Wedding Dreams by Thelma Madine
Ten dresses. Ten Dreams. All the secrets revealed.

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

Synopsis

Thelma Madine, star of Channel 4’s Big Fat Gypsy Weddings and fairy godmother of Gypsy weddings, reveals the drama, secrets and surprises involved in ten gypsy weddings.

Through the tales of ten elaborate Gypsy wedding dresses Thelma offers a new window onto the remarkable world of ten brides and their extravagant weddings. For Thelma’s young brides, a wedding dress is more than just a pretty white gown; for some it is a symbol of their fairytale-like hopes and dreams for the future, for others a mark of a long-standing friendship with a non-traveller they have welcomed into their community, and for a small group a sad reminder of day they know will never come.

With each chapter based around the secrets and incredible truths hidden behind a different dress, Thelma’s second book is packed full of fascinating new stories. More drama, more dresses, more gypsies.

By turns laugh-out-loud funny and achingly sad, and brimming with hilarious anecdotes and larger-than-life characters, Thelma’s book will amaze, amuse and entertain.

Beautifully designed, and fully-illustrated throughout, it is crammed with glossy new photos, revealing never-before-seen dresses adorned with thousands of Swarovski crystals and hundreds of LED lights – an ideal gift for fans of Channel 4’s Big Fat Gypsy Weddings, My Big Fat Gypsy Valentine and Thelma’s Gypsy Girls.

 

About Thelma Madine

See more books from this Author
Thelma Madine is the star of Channel 4’s Big Fat Gypsy Weddings and Thelma’s Gypsy Girls. She has been working with travellers for over fifteen years. After being left with nothing after a messy divorce she started making and selling dresses on a market stall in Liverpool. One day a traveller woman asked her to make some dresses and before she knew it she had dozens of traveller women asking for the same thing, and so began her dressmaking business. Thelma now owns Nico’s Dressmakers in Liverpool and is the designer favoured by travellers around the country, many of whom travel hundreds of miles to have her make their wedding, christening and communion dresses. Thelma lives in Liverpool and has four children (a son and three daughters), the youngest of which still lives at home with her and her partner Dave.
 
Published February 14, 2013 by HarperCollins. 256 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Crafts, Hobbies & Home, Humor & Entertainment, Arts & Photography, Education & Reference. Non-fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review