Harold's Tail by John Bemelmans Marciano

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Harold is a squirrel living a happy if sheltered life in his park on New York City's Upper West Side. But when a streetwise rat persuades him to take part in an experiment, Harold suddenly finds himself without his tail fur-and without a home. Mistaken for a rat and forced out on the unfamiliar streets of New York, Harold encounters a cast of unforgettable characters, including a neurotic pigeon, a vain cat, and a tribe of hostile squirrels. But it's not until Harold discovers allies in an unusual trio of rodents that his adventures really begin. . . . By turns funny, poignant, and suspenseful, Harold's Tail will appeal to fans of Stuart Little and The Cricket in Times Square as it celebrates the courage of an unexpected hero and the resilient power of friendship

About John Bemelmans Marciano

See more books from this Author
John Bemelmans Marciano is the grandson of Madeline creator Ludwig Bemelmans. A self-taught illustrator, his previous books for Viking include Delilah and Madeline Says Merci.
Published September 15, 2003 by Viking Juvenile. 144 pages
Genres: Nature & Wildlife, Travel, Action & Adventure, Children's Books.

Unrated Critic Reviews for Harold's Tail

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Reluctantly, Harold agrees to participate in Sidney's "little experiment": to prove that Harold's "precious people friends" only love him because of his bushy tail, the rat shaves off the fur on the squirrel's tail and glues it onto his own.

| Read Full Review of Harold's Tail

Rate this book!

Add Review